Obstruction and rolling

By LTD, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

If an attack is obstructed, when do I decide which die to remove - before rolling any, or during the roll?

Example - my Cr90a with TRCs is firing front against an obstructed target. Can I roll one red, see the result, then decide which die to remove from the remaining two?

I assume not - but it would be nice if I could.

1 minute ago, LTD said:

before rolling any

This one.

Collect Dice.

Discard one.

Roll.

All collected dice are rolled at the same time. Same as when adding more than one dice due to a single effect. You choose and collect them all, then roll, unless it tells you otherwise.

I thought that would be the case.

Thanks.

11 hours ago, LTD said:

I thought that would be the case.

Thanks.

If you want, I can dredge up the old Kniffen email I have on it - make it all official and all... Sone people like that... but I was pressed for time ?

No thanks - on review of the RRG page 8 it is quite clear - “the attacker must choose and remove one die from his attack pool before he rolls dice”

cheers

No problem ?

On 11/15/2018 at 5:45 PM, Drasnighta said:

Collect Dice.

Discard one.

Roll.

All collected dice are rolled at the same time. Same as when adding more than one dice due to a single effect. You choose and collect them all, then roll, unless it tells you otherwise.

So if using Ackbar to add 2 red dice, are they added before one is removed for the obstruction?

29 minutes ago, Darth Korvix said:

So if using Ackbar to add 2 red dice, are they added before one is removed for the obstruction?

No.

As an “Add” effect, Ackbar takes place after the initial roll.

Which means if a one die shot is obstructed, you cannot Ackbar, as the shot is cancelled .

The terminology here is “add”, basically. So ConFire, Ackbar, those things.

It does NOT apply to “increase battery armament”, such as Enhanced Armament or Spinal Armament . Those are added before you gather, basically - as you gather the battery armament.

Edited by Drasnighta

Follow-up question. Let's take the Ackbar CR90 long range shot.

The attacker rolls an accuracy. The hull zone is facing a Solar Corona, so that dice is discarded. Does the attack continue? If not, why not?

1 hour ago, Grumbleduke said:

Follow-up question. Let's take the Ackbar CR90 long range shot.

The attacker rolls an accuracy. The hull zone is facing a Solar Corona, so that dice is discarded. Does the attack continue? If not, why not?

You can still add the Ackbar dice. Once the pool is gathered and rolled, the attack has begun, and all add dice effects apply.

That said, if the effect requires you add a die of a color already in your pool, you can’t add that die.

Edited by Astrodar