Few game play clarifications

By Dribs, in KeyForge

Only had 3 games so far and find it enjoyable. Just a few things I'm not 100% on.

Terms of Redress: Choose a friendly creature to capture 2 aember.

Does that creature have to be in the active house?

And a general question, cards with a ready and fight/use/reap effect, can that be used on creatures already readyed allowing them to just fight/use/reap?

Try not to overthink FFG text or do anything other than what it says.

Choose a friendly creature pretty much means that you pick any creature you have. So it doesn't have to be of the active house.

In general you just do as much of the card text as possible. So cards that ready a creature can be played on a ready creature, although if that creature was from the active house why not use it to reap/fight/use then ready it and go again?

There is a card that say "ready and Fight adjacent creature." so you play it and the creature next to it will be readied and will fight. If your opponent has no creatures then you will not have a fight. Here there are two choices, if you are of the active house you can use or reap with the creature, if not of the active house then you can't do anything else out side of the card effect.

Just because I'm one those guys, here's the actual entry from the Rules Reference Guide, just in case anyone's looking for extra clarification (or needs to prove it to someone else in the future) the following appears on Page 7, under the heading Card Abilities:

Quote

If a card ability allows a player to play or use another card (or to fight or to reap with a card), the chosen card may belong to any house unless the ability specifically states otherwise.

  • When using a card via a card ability, any other requirements of using the card (such as exhausting to reap, fight, or resolve its “ Action :” ability) must be observed, or the card cannot be used.
  • Players can only use cards they control, unless a card ability specifically states otherwise.

So this absolutely makes it clear that 'Terms of Redress' allows one to capture Amber with any friendly creature (the chosen creature card may belong to any house.)

The first dot-point covers interrelated card effects. To discover if the clause is a 'requirement' of using the card, check its language - generally, ' to ' means that you must do it (exhaust this creature to gain one Amber - you must exhaust the creature) while ' and ' means to do it if possible (exhaust a creature and gain one Amber - you must exhaust a creature if you can, but your ability to do so does not impact you gaining the Amber.)

Amanal's answer was already sufficient, I just wanted to post the rules. ?