Armageddon Cloak Clarification

By Psi23, in KeyForge

I need some clarification with upgrade Armageddon Cloak.

The text says:

This creature gains hazardous 2 and, " Destroyed : Fully heal this creature and destroy Armageddon Cloak instead."

So if the creature with Armageddon Cloak had upgrades other than it as well, would the other upgrades stay on the creature or get destroyed?

The creature isn't getting destroyed, the cloak is, so other upgrades should remain.

I could see it ruled either way, but I think the other upgrades stay because of the last word of the effect “instead “.

20 minutes ago, Starbane said:

I could see it ruled either way, but I think the other upgrades stay because of the last word of the effect “instead “.

yeah thought that at first but the effect itself is getting triggered after the creature has been destroyed since it has " Destroyed: " header so it confused me

Just now, Psi23 said:

yeah thought that at first but the effect itself is getting triggered after the creature has been destroyed since it has " Destroyed: " header so it confused me

It still confuses me. This game has some serious timing issues that I hope get resolved in an FAQ when it finally gets released.

1 minute ago, dperello said:

It still confuses me. This game has some serious timing issues that I hope get resolved in an FAQ when it finally gets released.

same

5 minutes ago, dperello said:

It still confuses me. This game has some serious timing issues that I hope get resolved in an FAQ when it finally gets released.

Oh actually I just checked glossary and it says " Destroyed: " ability resolves after the creature is destroyed but immediately before it leaves the play.

So I guess the other upgrades should stay.

I agree with Starbane. By saying 'instead', they are saying the creature doesn't really get destroyed, and so their upgrades would stay. But it would be nice to hear if this is how to read these things or not.

A.Cloak grants the Destroy ability along with the hazardous ability. It doesn’t have those abilities itself. So the creature keeps any other upgrades because it doesn’t actually leave play.