Witch of the Wilds Clarification

By barabelsftw, in KeyForge

6 hours ago, Lusiphur05 said:

Each card produces a trigger that allows you to play one untamed card when it isn't the active house. The one card isn't a restriction, it is simply what you do. Therefore, two triggers = two cards played.

What’s the trigger then? There’s a continuous effect (“during each turn ...”), but no trigger.

Let’s use PhaseShift as an example:

The card is an action that says “Play: You may play one non-Logos card this turn.”

If I played PhaseShift, then played one non-Logos card, then played a second PhaseShift, then played one non-Logos card would you object?

Further and to the point, what if I played PhaseShift, played a second PhaseShift and then tried to utilize both effects and play two non-Logos cards, would you object?

If if you say the two Witches resolve off the same Untamed card then in both these examples you have to object and say I can only play one non-Logos card during a turn, no matter the timing or order that I play my two Phaseshifts. After all, it doesn’t say you can play one “additional” non-Logos card this turn.

At the risk of going dangerously close to full YuGiOh, I think we can trust the heart of the algorithm. If I’ve learned anything in the nine plays with my deck (five against the same deck) it’s that one card does not ruin the game and even what I consider my slam dunk plays aren’t always slam dunks. Two Witches of the Wild in play each allowing the play of one Untamed card when Untamed is not the active house is not going to break the game. If it does at this point I think it’s a reasonable conclusion to say the opponent did not respond appropriately to the play and suffered the consequences as a result.

My two cents, or my one cent with two bad pennies ;) . Let us know if you get an official ruling.

I know you were just giving examples and didn’t mean to imply it was the correct way to play, but let’s be clear. You couldn’t play a second Phase Shift until after you played a card from a house other than Logos, unless you didn’t have any. Other than that I agree.

Seems pretty clear to me that there's no way to answer a lot of these questions without a more comprehensive resource than the BRB.

I would indeed object to anyone playing two non-Logos cards after two Phase shifts, I would simply point out that they already played one non-Logos card this round. I’d let them take it back though if they wanted to...

There's no consensus. I THINK they each grant you 1 untamed card play, so 2.

What about 2 hunting witches then?

Quote

Each time you play another creature, gain 1[AE].

The next creature you play should get 2 aember, 1 from each, no? There are a ton of constant abilities that I would be surprised didn't stack.

But there are indeed some that probably shouldn't. Rock hurling giant:

Quote

During your turn, each time you discard a Brobnar card from your hand, you may deal 4[D]

Thematically, one card, one rock.

4 hours ago, Starbane said:

I know you were just giving examples and didn’t mean to imply it was the correct way to play, but let’s be clear. You couldn’t play a second Phase Shift until after you played a card from a house other than Logos, unless you didn’t have any. Other than that I agree.

Phase shift:

Quote

Play: You may play one non-Logos card this turn.

I don't understand your logic about phase shift order. Phase shift gives you an out of house play for the turn - it doesn't have to be the next card you play. Phase shift isn't playing the card the same way something like Wild Wormhole is.

I think because on Crucible Online if you play PhaseShift it makes you immediately play the Non-Logos card. That’s my guess why someone would think you have to do it right away.

I’d recommend not trusting it for order of resolution, I saw it miss several triggers in the games I played on it. Now that I actually have my own deck (and regular opponents) I doubt I’ll use it again.

I think there are other cards in the set that would make the wording on this easier.

AutoCannon - "Deals one damage to each creature that enters play"
If you have two autocannons you would obviously deal two damage

Pile of skulls - Each time an enemy creature is destroyed during your turn a friendly creature may capture 1 amber.
If you have two of these it would obviously let you capture 2

Jehu the Beaurocrat - Each time you declare sanctum as your active house, gain 2 amber
If you had two of those, you would obviously gain 4 amber.

Customs Office - Your opponent must pay you one amber to play an artifact. Having two of these again would make your opponent pay 2 to play an artifact

I am curious why witch of the wild would be an exception to this logic...
I wouldn't be surprised if it was ruled differently, but if it was, I think we would certainly need a reason why.

Edited by Krimson_guard