Would the opponent gain aember from Tolas being destroyed? And by extension, if Tolas and other creatures are destroyed simultaneously, is aember granted from all of them?
Edited by SaibrockDoes Tolas "see" his own destruction?
Page 7 under CONSTANT ABILITIES the rules say, "...is active so long as the card remains in play..." Any effect that destroys Talos and any other creatures should not cause any Æmber to be gained by anyone as Talos would no longer be in play. At least that's my understanding.
But there's no timing specified for Tolas' aember generation.
Is it just before the creature is destroyed, like with " Destroyed:" effects? If so, then it would definitely trigger on Tolas' own destruction, and any creatures destroyed with it.
Is it immediately after the creature is destroyed? If so, then it would definitely not trigger if Tolas is destroyed.
Is it simultaneous with the destruction? If so, then where do we stand?
I think it would work like this:
All damage is simultaneous, so if Talos takes enough damage to kill it, it is placed in its owner's discard pile along with any other creatures that have also been destroyed. Only creatures with a Destroyed ability get activated, and that's immediately before they leave play. (page 10, see DESTROYED) As Talos' ability is constant and therfore only in effect as long as it’s in play it would seem to make sense that it can't activate as it is leaving play as that is specifically noted to only work with Destroyed abilities.
In other words, damage is dealt, creatures are destroyed, Destroyed abilities trigger, creatures are put in discard piles, constant abilities on surviving creatures are checked to see if any of them trigger.
I could be wrong, but this makes the most sense to me.