Identified Ancient Stones

By Raahk, in Arkham Horror: The Card Game

The ancient stone reads: [Reaction]: When you draw any number of cards, spend that many secrets.

It occured to me that drawing mythos cards or cards from the exploration deck also triggers the ancient stone, which makes it even better. Hype!

Huh. You're right. It's probably not intended, but there's nothing under either "card draw" in the rules reference or on the stone itself that forbids it.

I'm not convinced that's unambiguously true - whenever the phrase "draw cards" is used without specifying a deck, it automatically refers to drawing from your own deck (i.e. it never needs to specify "draw cards from your investigator deck"), whereas drawing encounter cards is specifically "draw encounter cards". On the other hand, encounter/exploration cards are very clearly "cards" and you are very clearly "drawing" them, so your interpretation does seem the more likely one.

Question to run by the devs, perhaps?

If you look up "draw cards" in the rules reference, it does specifically mention Encounter Cards, though.

I think Raakh is right.

It is defined in the RR that when a card instructs you to draw card, you should draw a card from your deck unless otherwise instructed.

That being said you do draw cards not from your deck in some circumstances (like the Mythos phase). Since the wording on ancient stones is a direction/reaction on what to do when you draw rather than a directive to draw a card, my interpretation is that Raakh is correct.

Not sure that is the intent but its the cleanest reading of the rules in my opinion.

38 minutes ago, Eldan985 said:

If you look up "draw cards" in the rules reference, it does specifically mention Encounter Cards, though.

Yes, as a separate paragraph, after stating that "draw x cards" by itself refers specifically to the player deck.

A ruling on Dr. Henry Armitage says

Quote

Unless otherwise specified 'drawing a card' always refers to drawing a card from your investigator's deck. Armitage's ability cannot be used on encounter cards.

I don't see that having made it into the official rules though.

15 hours ago, Allonym said:

Yes, as a separate paragraph, after stating that "draw x cards" by itself refers specifically to the player deck.

Yes, but that only refers to the "draw" action , specifying that you can only draw from your own deck, not others. The ancient stone doesn't mention the draw action, only the act of drawing cards.

I mean, I agree it's silly and not as intended, and I'd argue against allowing it at our table, but the rules don't seem to forbid it.

In step 4 of the mythosphase, the first thing you are instructed to do is to "draw an encounter card from the encounter deck". To me, it seems clear that the ancient stones trigger as well during the mythos phase.

This really needs official clarification. But based on the Armitage ruling, I think we'll learn that "when you draw a card", with no deck specified, means from the player deck only, much like "a card you control" means a card in play only.

It's kind of implied throughout the game. No one asks whether passing a test with Manual Dexterity means you should draw an encounter card.

Edited by CSerpent
9 minutes ago, CSerpent said:

It's kind of implied throughout the game. No one asks whether passing a test with Manual Dexterity means you should draw an encounter card. 

This got me thinking ...

21 hours ago, Raahk said:

This got me thinking ...

Sneaky. I don't think the Explore deck would work. Drawing a card would definitely not be an Explore action, so you wouldn't be resolving the Explore-related mechanics.

There are a few situations where you want to cycle the encounter deck. Say, finding the Janitor in Extracurricluar activities, or finding more locations in Lost in Time and Space. But they also give you better ways to do it.

I want an official ruling :D

Can somebody please ask FFG about the ruling? When i try to send the filled form it shows the following:

Forbidden (403)

CSRF verification failed. Request aborted.

More information is available with DEBUG=True.

I tried, but I'm afraid I got the same error (using Google Chrome).

If no-one else succeeds then I could try e-mailing Matt directly, I've got his e-mail address from a previous rules query I submitted. I could also tell him that FFG's Rules Question Form is broken!

I got that error once yesterday, but apparently got through on a second attempt. (different question, though)

Edited by CSerpent

Similar problems. I just copied my text and repeated the process until I punched one through the Are You A Robot prompt.

6 hours ago, Assussanni said:

I tried, but I'm afraid I got the same error (using Google Chrome).

If no-one else succeeds then I could try e-mailing Matt directly, I've got his e-mail address from a previous rules query I submitted. I could also tell him that FFG's Rules Question Form is broken!

If you could do that, that would be great :)

On 11/2/2018 at 6:53 AM, Eldan985 said:

There  are a few situations where you want to cycle the encounter deck. Say, finding the Janitor in Extracurricluar activities  , or finding more locations in Lost in Time and Space. But they also give you better ways to do it.     

While this is true, I am not sure how this relates to the topic at hand.

We are talking about actions that trigger when you draw a card, not something that would allow you to draw additional encounter cards.

On 11/1/2018 at 8:42 AM, CSerpent said:

This really needs official clarification. But based on the Armitage ruling, I think we'll learn that "when you draw  a card  ", with no deck specified, means from the player deck only, much like "a card you control" means a card in play only.         

This is an excellent point.

I also like the phrase "The Armitage Ruling"

8 minutes ago, Jobu said:

I also like the phrase "The Armitage Ruling"

by Robert Ludlum

3 hours ago, Jobu said:

"The Armitage Ruling"

by Charles Stross!

13 hours ago, Jobu said:

While this is true, I am not sure how this relates t  o the topic at hand. 

We are talking about actions that trigger when you draw a card, not something that would allow you to draw additional encounter cards.   

Maybe have a look at what I was replying to? Someone specifically asked if there's anything in the rules that says you can't draw additional encounter cards instead of from your deck, and if there are ways to abuse that.

Quote

I also like the phrase "The Armitage Ruling"

By John Grisham?

Edited by Eldan985
8 hours ago, Eldan985 said:

Maybe have a look at what I was replying to? Someone specifically asked if there's anything in the rules that says you can't draw additional encounter cards instead of from your deck, and if there are ways to abuse that.

I didn't mean to offend. It wasn't apparent to me who you were responding to.

At the end of the day, I now think we should interpret this the same way that Armitage has been ruled to work. The fact that the Armitage Ruling is not in the faq caused the confusion.