Cluster Missiles Requirements

By tgall, in X-Wing Rules Questions

From the card : Attack ( Icon action lock ? Spend 1 Icon charge . After this attack, you may perform this attack as a bonus attack against a different target at range 0-1 of the defender, ignoring the Icon action lock requirement.

So the question is thus. When you perform the second attack, what are the constraints & requirements for the attack?

If the second target is within 0-1 of the initial target but at range 3, does that mean it's not a valid target? What about if the second target is out of arc?

Do you need to spend another 1 Icon charge ?

Looking at the rules reference they seemed to have bungled the text a bit especially in the example.

Thanks!

The bonus attack is another cluster missile attack that still requires them to be in a legal range and in arc, it does require you spend another charge, the only difference is that you do not need a lock on the second target.

The only thing the bonus attack absolves you of is the Lock requirement. You just go back to the top, and go through the entire attack again, ignoring the bit where it says 'lock'.

So what that means is the second target must be in range 2-3 of the attacker? Cuz if it follows the fluff, the missiles just keep flying since it is a "cluster" of multiple missiles. That being said, I think it would make sense according to fluff that range to the attacker doesn't matter as long as it is 0-1 of the previously hit target. But I would understand to keep the game from breaking, the second or third defender must still maintain the range 2-3 of the attacker. I think tgall (as well as myself and others) are curious about where the second and third defenders have to be in order for this to work?

1 minute ago, BCvalor said:

So what that means is the second target must be in range 2-3 of the attacker? Cuz if it follows the fluff, the missiles just keep flying since it is a "cluster" of multiple missiles. That being said, I think it would make sense according to fluff that range to the attacker doesn't matter as long as it is 0-1 of the previously hit target. But I would understand to keep the game from breaking, the second or third defender must still maintain the range 2-3 of the attacker. I think tgall (as well as myself and others) are curious about where the second and third defenders have to be in order for this to work?

Cluster missiles require the first target to be locked and to be in range 1-2. For the second target, they must be in range 1-2 and range 0-1 of the first target.

There cannot be a 3rd target (or 4th, 5th, etc) as you are limited to 1 bonus attack per round.

4 minutes ago, BCvalor said:

So what that means is the second target must be in range 2-3 of the attacker? Cuz if it follows the fluff, the missiles just keep flying since it is a "cluster" of multiple missiles. That being said, I think it would make sense according to fluff that range to the attacker doesn't matter as long as it is 0-1 of the previously hit target. But I would understand to keep the game from breaking, the second or third defender must still maintain the range 2-3 of the attacker. I think tgall (as well as myself and others) are curious about where the second and third defenders have to be in order for this to work?

The Range 2-3 is, I'm reasonably sure, an typo regarding the range of Cluster Missiles (which is actually Range 1-2).

Oh my mistake. I remember it being 1-2.

4 minutes ago, Innese said:

Cluster missiles require the first target to be locked and to be in range 1-2. For the second target, they must be in range 1-2 and range 0-1 of the first target.

There cannot be a 3rd target (or 4th, 5th, etc) as you are limited to 1 bonus attack per round.

Oh man I was under the impression you could chain more than two, but again, I see how it would break the game to get more than that.

2 minutes ago, BCvalor said:

Oh man I was under the impression you could chain more than two, but again, I see how it would break the game to get more than that.

Even some effects that don't feel game breaking necessarily are being limited a lot in second edition. I suspect to prevent the possibility for future abuse with unforeseen combos.

5 minutes ago, nexttwelveexits said:

The Range 2-3 is, I'm reasonably sure, an typo regarding the range of Cluster Missiles (which is actually Range 1-2).

Exactly. Tho there can be the smallest shimmer of doubt that maybe, just maybe in the 0-1 range requirement for the follow on attack, they were at one time considering a slight expansion of the ability.

My opinion, I don't think it would be the least bit broken to relax the card to 1-2 for the initial target and 1-3 and in arc and 0-1 from the initial target for the second attack, but as with all things, FFG rightly doesn't care about my opinions ?

Anyway appreciate all the comments to help clear up which was obviously a misunderstanding on my part.

Fluff wise it does not even make sense for the missile to go farther for the second target !?! These are Cluster, it means they are like a shotgun blast, the fact there is someone in front of you when you shoot, does not make the shell able to go farther !?!

As a follow up question, can the target lock be spent to reroll dice when the bonus target is being attacked? My guess is no, because the lock is on the original target. But I can see it being ruled either way.

2 minutes ago, underling said:

As a follow up question, can the target lock be spent to reroll dice when the bonus target is being attacked? My guess is no, because the lock is on the original target. But I can see it being ruled either way.

The lock can only be used as normal for the ship it's on, not for the second target of a bonus attack.

8 minutes ago, underling said:

But I can see it being ruled either way.

I wonder how it could even be ruled that way !?! There is absolutely nothing in the game rule that suggest that a Lock can be used on anything other then when attacking the ship you have locked

6 minutes ago, MockingBird ME said:

The lock can only be used as normal for the ship it's on, not for the second target of a bonus attack.

What if you had cluster missiles on Redline and had a lock on the second target as well?

1 minute ago, mcgreag said:

What if you had cluster missiles on Redline and had a lock on the second target as well?

A lock on the second target could be used to reroll the attack dice against that target.