jam on a ship with multiple green tokens/ target locks

By predigerw, in X-Wing Rules Questions

2 hours ago, RikuM said:

This was the best topic I could find concerning the discussion I had last game night. What happens, when the ship being jammed has one type of token but the jammer chooses another type of token? Reading the rules, an effect was not resolved so the ship remains jammed, but a jammed ship is a ship with a jam token and no green tokens or locks.

A specific example of this would be a ship with a lock on a rock getting jammed before it is activated.

FWIW, my personal opinions re: green tokens is #1 and re: this question is jam is ineffective, but I understand both interpretations in both cases.

Sounds like someone was trying to proc Composure using Jam...

You assign the token either way. So Jam can only fail if no enemy ship is at r1.

8 hours ago, Hiemfire said:

Sounds like someone was trying to proc Composure using Jam...

No, 4-LOM would have liked to pre-emptively jam Rexler’s evade from Full Throttle.

On 10/24/2018 at 4:51 PM, thespaceinvader said:

The person applying the token chooses which token to remove f there are multiple.

Is that still up to date @Hiemfire ?

33 minutes ago, GreenDragoon said:

Is that still up to date @Hiemfire ?

It is as far as I know.

Reading through the Epic Rules FAQ (v1.1.0, page 8), I found the following Jam Q and A:

Quote

Q: When a ship gains a jam token from a faceup damage card, which player decides which token is removed?

A: If the damage card was dealt or exposed as part of an attack or effect controlled by a particular player, that player chooses which token is removed. If it is caused by an effect that no player controls (such as the effect of overlapping an obstacle), then the player who controls the ship with the faceup damage card chooses which token is removed.

The language here is a bit more explicit in describing how jam works, at least for huge ships. My thought is that it informs how the small ships jamming should be read, but also adding it here for completeness.

12 hours ago, Nspace said:

If the damage card was dealt or exposed as part of an attack or effect controlled by a particular player, that player chooses which token is removed.

This is still muddy as it is prefaced by the "if the damage card" portion, and someone could still rules lawyer it. But this has me leaning toward whomever inflicts the jam chooses whatever token they want or whatever lock they want. Good find.