Assault (X) and BEFORE rules question

By Tillke, in KeyForge

Interesting rules question:
If the attacked creature dies due to the assault effect is my creature still exhausted ? I know the assault rule states that the assault damage is dealt "before the fight resolves" but its not a specific "BEFORE" ability. What do you guys think ?
BEFORE If the word “before” is used in an ability (for example, “Before Reap:” or “Before Fight:”), that ability resolves before resolving the game effect of the reap or fight (but after the card exhausts, if exhausting is required to use the card).
ASSAULT (X) When a creature with the assault (X) keyword attacks, it deals damage equal to its assault value (i.e., “X”) to the creature it is fighting before the fight resolves. (The active player chooses whether this occurs before or after other “Before Fight” effects and keywords.) If this damage destroys the other creature, the rest of the fight does not occur.
Edited by Tillke

The rules for fighting say you exhaust the creature as soon as you decide to fight, so I suspect that yes, it would still exhaust the creature.


"When a player uses a creature to fight, the player exhausts the creature and chooses an opponent’s creature."

I agree I was just not able to delete my post. Still dont know how to do this.

No need. Your post will serve to help others who are similarly confused.