Fire Lanes and critical damage effects

By aaronsa86, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Apologies if this has been answered already but I couldn't find anything about it in the forums

Recently I was playing the Fire Lanes objective against an opponent with Dodonna. He chose a disengaged fire control an depowered armament damage cards during the course of the game and we debated on if they affected the objective scoring.
We eventually agreed that it would, since the objective specifies battery armament and treating it "as if performing attacks", but I wanted to see if everyone agrees.

The objective tokens were either obstructed to or at long range of my Cymoon ISD. In both cases I had more dice in my battery armament at range of the tokens than my opponent.

Fire Lanes: To determine control of each token, players measure attack range and line of sight from each of their ships' hull zones as if performing attacks with battery armament targeting that objective token. The player with the highest total number of dice in his combined attack pool controls that token.

Disengaged Fire Control - When declaring the target of an attack, you cannot choose a target against whom the attack would be obstructed.

Depowered Armament - You cannot attack at long range.

I've never seen this come up before, but I tentatively agree with your conclusion. Let's ask @Tokra ; he's an expert on Fire Lanes + Dodonna.

It’s essentially agreed that “as if performing attacks” is explicit.

If something stops you performing that attack, it prevents you from scoring those fire lanes points.

We had an answer previously in which you counted obstruction in your calculations - ie, it was one less due on target - and it’s only a small leap of logic to assume the followcon to that.

But EXPLICITLY stated? No.

Basically i agree that it is an attack. And all that count for this attack (obstruction, upgrades, crits) does as well count for this.

The only part is, that you are only rolling the dice that you have at the begin of the attack. So you are only doing the part 2 from the attack sequence.


2. Roll Attack Dice:
Gather attack dice to form the attack pool and roll those dice. Gather only the dice that are appropriate for the range of the attack as indicated by the icons on the range ruler.

If you cannot attack on long range because of Depowered Armament or cannot add any dice because of Disengaged Fire Control , you just add no dice to the attack and therefore add no for Fire Lanes as well.

But as @Drasnighta said, it is not writen in the FAQ this way.