Attack pool questions and backpedaling

By ovinomanc3r, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I want to attack with my cr90 side arc at long range.

I...

Gather attack dice to form the attack
pool and roll those dice. Gather only the dice that are appropriate for the range of the attack as indicated by the icons on the range ruler.

The attack is not obstructed so I roll my red die. I roll an accuracy and the attack follow to the next step.

I rolled against the Solar Corona so before anything I remove my red die. But I already go through the Roll Attack Dice step and I had at least one die so the attack was no canceled. So, technically, I could resolve my effects. CF needs a die so nothing to do with it until I had some color to copy but I have Ackbar as well and he simply add two red dice.

Could I add his dice?

I mean, I am pretty sure the attack is not cancelled unless I am missing some timing little aspect here.

The FAQ and the RRG let clear the attack is cancelled during the Roll Attack Dice step if there are no dice gathered. And I gather 1 die and also roll it. Before Resolve Attack Effects is not During the Roll Attack Dice step so I think I have that clear.

At first I would say it would be possible to add Ackbar and any add dice effect but the CF (until there is at least another die). But I also read that Attack Pool entry:

During an attack, the attack pool is comprised of all dice being used for that attack. This includes the dice gathered prior to rolling as well as the dice after they are rolled.

Cancelled dice are not the attack pool. They are removed from it. Ackbar and other add effects add to the attack pool but is there any attack pool? Is it possible for an attack pool to have 0 dice?

I think this would be a really restricted read of the Attack Pool but I acknowledge that someone could argue that if it is the dice and there is no dice, there's not an attack pool and Ackbar must add dice to an attack pool.

You are correct on Solar Corona, as we understand it.

Way back, one of the first pieces of advice I got from James Kniffen was that the statement about cancelling attacks was only relevant in regards to being unable to gather “and roll” dice.

With a single die attack out of range, you cannot gather, and it fails.

With a single die attack and an obstruction, you gather, but cannot roll, as it is removed pre rolling, and fails.

With a single die attack and solar corona, you have at least rolled... so the attack is not cancelled even if the only die - an acc - is removed, as you formed your pool by rolling.

If course, at that point, you need a straight, non colour contingent die add to continue - Ackbar or QBTs would provide that, for other colour contingent effects (ConFire) to work off...

... and of course, Ackbar only works if you declared you were using him before your attack step - so after your dial / squad / eng, but before you pick a target.

Edited by Drasnighta

This is what i use (dont remember where i got it) to resolve attacks:

  1. Declare Target

  1. Roll Attack Dice (in this order):
    1. Attacker gathers certain dice to create his dice pool:

· The battery armament dice printed on your ship card.

· Dice grante d by any upgrade cards that specifically increa se your "battery armaments".

· Upgrade cards that add dice to your attack without specifically saying they change your "battery armament" are not rolled here, but rolled during the modify dice step later on.

    1. Roll Attack Dice

  1. Resolve Attack Effects (in this order):
    1. Modify Dice:

· Dice can be Added , Re-Rolled , Changed , and Spent in any order.

· Any upgrade cards that Add dice to an attack do so during this step

· Dice Added during this step are not restricted by range unless specified by the effect.

· Spent dice are removed from your dice pool.

· Dice can be Re-Rolled multiple times by different effects.

    1. Spend Accuracy Icons

  1. Spend Defense Tokens

· The Evade token takes effect here.

· Brace and Contain must be declared at this point, even though their effects do not resolve until later in the sequence.

· Redirect must be declared during this step and you must choose which hull zone potential damage will be redirected too. The rest of the effect resolves later in the attack sequence like Brace and Contain .

· Only 1 of each type of token may be spent during each attack.

· Each defense token can only be spent once during an attack.

· Spent tokens are flipped to their exhausted side, or discarded if already exhausted.

· Any effect that exhausts an already exhausted defense token will have no effect on that token.

  1. Resolve Damage (in this order):
    1. You may resolve a critical effect if at least 1 critical hit symbol is showing in your dice pool.

· Resolve the effect in full before continuing.

· Critical effects do not combine with your attack damage unless specified.

· Because critical effects resolve at this point any damage caused by a critical effect cannot be moved or changed by a defense token effect unless directly specified by an effect.

· Some critical effects might have delayed resolution, like the default critical effect, but they must all be declared at this stage, no matter when they will take effect.

· No matter how many critical hit symbols you have in your dice pool you can only resolve one critical effect per attack.

    1. Work out the total damage of the attack
      • Add up the # of hit and critical symbols in your dice pool. That is your damage.
      • A point of damage from a hit icon and a point of damage from a critical hit icon are the same thing at this point. Which dice the damage points came from no longer matters as any critical effect has already been resolved.
      • Brace token takes effect here, but only if spent in step 4.
    1. Apply the total damage one point at a time.
      • Redirect token takes effect here but only if spent in step 4.
      • Remove shields first then start dealing damage cards.
      • If the attack generated a critical effect and the attacker resolved the standard critical effect available to all ships (flipping the first damage card dealt) during step A then it takes effect here.
      • Remember you are just dealing with damage points now, you no longer care about the symbols in your dice pool.
57 minutes ago, Alqui said:

This is what i use (dont remember where i got it) to resolve attacks:

  1. Declare Target

  1. Roll Attack Dice (in this order):
    1. Attacker gathers certain dice to create his dice pool:

· The battery armament dice printed on your ship card.

· Dice grante d by any upgrade cards that specifically increa se your "battery armaments".

· Upgrade cards that add dice to your attack without specifically saying they change your "battery armament" are not rolled here, but rolled during the modify dice step later on.

    1. Roll Attack Dice

  1. Resolve Attack Effects (in this order):
    1. Modify Dice:

· Dice can be Added , Re-Rolled , Changed , and Spent in any order.

· Any upgrade cards that Add dice to an attack do so during this step

· Dice Added during this step are not restricted by range unless specified by the effect.

· Spent dice are removed from your dice pool.

· Dice can be Re-Rolled multiple times by different effects.

    1. Spend Accuracy Icons

  1. Spend Defense Tokens

· The Evade token takes effect here.

· Brace and Contain must be declared at this point, even though their effects do not resolve until later in the sequence.

· Redirect must be declared during this step and you must choose which hull zone potential damage will be redirected too. The rest of the effect resolves later in the attack sequence like Brace and Contain .

· Only 1 of each type of token may be spent during each attack.

· Each defense token can only be spent once during an attack.

· Spent tokens are flipped to their exhausted side, or discarded if already exhausted.

· Any effect that exhausts an already exhausted defense token will have no effect on that token.

  1. Resolve Damage (in this order):
    1. You may resolve a critical effect if at least 1 critical hit symbol is showing in your dice pool.

· Resolve the effect in full before continuing.

· Critical effects do not combine with your attack damage unless specified.

· Because critical effects resolve at this point any damage caused by a critical effect cannot be moved or changed by a defense token effect unless directly specified by an effect.

· Some critical effects might have delayed resolution, like the default critical effect, but they must all be declared at this stage, no matter when they will take effect.

· No matter how many critical hit symbols you have in your dice pool you can only resolve one critical effect per attack.

    1. Work out the total damage of the attack
      • Add up the # of hit and critical symbols in your dice pool. That is your damage.
      • A point of damage from a hit icon and a point of damage from a critical hit icon are the same thing at this point. Which dice the damage points came from no longer matters as any critical effect has already been resolved.
      • Brace token takes effect here, but only if spent in step 4.
    1. Apply the total damage one point at a time.
      • Redirect token takes effect here but only if spent in step 4.
      • Remove shields first then start dealing damage cards.
      • If the attack generated a critical effect and the attacker resolved the standard critical effect available to all ships (flipping the first damage card dealt) during step A then it takes effect here.
      • Remember you are just dealing with damage points now, you no longer care about the symbols in your dice pool.

I think that's from an old post. Most of the info is correct, but I believe FFG has since clarified that you can spend accuracy icons / modify dice in any order.

24 minutes ago, Bertie Wooster said:

I think that's from an old post. Most of the info is correct, but I believe FFG has since clarified that you can spend accuracy icons / modify dice in any order .

That is correct.

They are not an Order, they are "dot points that can happen at this time", and due to the fact they are generally your effects sharing timing, you may do so in the order you wish.

So you could re-roll the acc befor it is removed by the Corona? Or is there a timing on the removal that I am missing right now?

1 minute ago, drumtier said:

So you could re-roll the acc befor it is removed by the Corona? Or is there a timing on the removal that I am missing right now?

Corona is an exception, as it tells you specifically when you remove the ACC.

While a ship is attacking, before resolving any attack effects, if any portion of the corona is inside the attacking hull zone's firing arc, the attacker must discard 1 die with a icon from the attack pool, if able.

Spending an ACC to lock down a defense token is still "an attack effect", as it is a Spend effect

Ok, I knew there was smthg like that on the card.

Thx, man!

On 11/20/2018 at 6:45 PM, Triangular said:

Just take a look at https://starwars-armada.wikia.com/wiki/Attack

And use the links to find answers to all your questions! 😃

The photo on the dice page has a black die with a single crit face...

13 hours ago, Ginkapo said:

The photo on the dice page has a black die with a single crit face...

It's an old picture from FFG homepage when they announced the game. I think it's funny and wrote a text underneath that the symbols are incorrect.

7 hours ago, Triangular said:

It's an old picture from FFG homepage when they announced the game. I think it's funny and wrote a text underneath that the symbols are incorrect.

Ah. Its now the top result on google images without the disclaimer.

Sorry if I’m treading on old ground with this but just wanted to clarify...

If using Ackbar to add 2 red to the side arc of a CR90 and the attack is obstructed, do you remove a die for the obstruction before adding for Ackbar or after adding for Ackbar?

Presumably if removing before then you can’t add Ackbar’s dice as there is nothing to add to.

29 minutes ago, Darth Korvix said:

Sorry if I’m treading on old ground with this but just wanted to clarify...

If using Ackbar to add 2 red to the side arc of a CR90 and the attack is obstructed, do you remove a die for the obstruction before adding for Ackbar or after adding for Ackbar?

Presumably if removing before then you can’t add Ackbar’s dice as there is nothing to add to.

Before and the attack gets cancelled, so no adding ackbar.