Boromir discard action query

By icabod, in Rules questions & answers

Hi.

Just looking at Tactics Hero Boromir and the Round Sequence during Combat , and have a query about the use of his action:

Quote

Action : Discard Boromir to deal 2 damage to each enemy engaged with a single player.

Lets say I use Boromir to defend an attack. I flip over the Shadow card and it would cause the resolved attack to kill Boromir. Before the attack is resolved there is an action window, so I decide to use Boromir's action and discard him, causing 2 damage to each enemy engaged with me.

There are two scenarios here, and I have a query for each:

1. The attacker is destroyed. I assume this means there is no damage to apply?

2. The attacker is not destroyed. Does this mean that the attack is considered undefended (as Boromir has shuffled off this mortal coil), and the damage is applied to another Hero?

I've done a very quick search and didn't find an answer, tho' I'm sure it would have been asked before.

Yes to both.