I presume, but do not know if it's confirmed, that a Long Lake Trader could transfer a restricted item to someone who already has two, forcing a discard of one of the existing two attachments.
A Couple Questions
6 hours ago, dalestephenson said:You *can* play Citadel Plate on Denethor, but you would have to discard either Gondorian Shield or Horn of Gondor to make room for it.
Or Citadel Plate if you're engaged with Corsairs or just want to lose.
When a player is told that an enemy is to make an immediate attack, does that mean you don't wait until the combat phase, but rather commence immediately with combat?
QuoteForced: At the end of the round, the engaged player must choose: either return Wild Mûmak to the staging area, or it makes an immediate attack .
When a card instructs you to make an immediate attack, you resolve it there and then, following the normal rules for enemy attacks in the combat phase. Always deal a shadow card for immediate attacks unless stated not to. The enemy still attacks as normal during combat as well.
When a card says to discard a random card from your hand, you cannot choose: the card is selected randomly. You may choose if it uses the terminology "choose and discard one card . . ." or "discard one card . . ."
Got a question about Terrible Fever .
QuoteWhen Revealed: Remove a hero from the quest and attach Terrible Fever to that hero. (Counts as a Condition attachment with the text: "Forced: At the end of the round, deal 1 damage to attached character.")
Is this condition for 1 round only or does it continue through rounds until you get a card that can remove the condition? Because it would quickly kill the hero if it remains attached and then it's more than likely game over.
Any Condition attachment stays attached indefinitely, unless it says otherwise.
Condition attachments are not discarded unless a card instructs/allows you to do so. So yes you deal 1 damage at the end of every round to the hero Terrible Fever is attached to.
I like to have condition removal in my deck for any quest that has conditions, if I can. Here's the options:
Lore: Miner of the Iron Hills (cost 2 ally, core), Elrond (cost 3 temporary ally, Road Darkens), Athelas (cost 1 attachment, Lost Realm)
Spirit: Power of Orthanc (0 cost event but doomed 2, Voice of Isengard)
Leadership: Bulwark of the West (0 cost event but discard an ally, Crossings of Poros)
Tactics: tough luck for you
Depends on the conditions and how much the effect your deck otherwise...
You can also cancel the treachery cards that give you these conditions.
The above stated condition Terrible Fever you might not particulary care about, if you have enough healing (and in fringe cases like Gloin etc. might even be beneficial).
Also technically letting the hero die and then "resurrecting" it (like with Fortune or Fate, The Houses of Healing, Landroval) will remove the Condition, but it's not a way for evert deck)
Edited by Alonewolf8717 minutes ago, Alonewolf87 said:Also technically letting the hero die and then "resurrecting" it (like with Fortune or Fate , The Houses of Healing, Landroval) will remove the Condition, but it's not a way for evert deck)
The trouble with Fortune Or Fate is that my questing hero is Spirit and it's usually her who gets killed, so I have no more Spirit resources to pay for a Spirit card... And it's the only one of the 3 I own, but will look into getting the others.
Got a question about side quests. Are they optional, meaning can you leave them in the staging area indefinitely?
They have no threat strength so that is not a problem, but they do have text like for instance with Guardians of the Jungle , the only thing that would have to be done is raise each locations threat by 1.
Yes sidequests are optional. You can leave them indefinetely as long as you can stomach their effects. (and sidequest heavy adventuteres also often have cards that combo with “number of quest cards in play“.)
1 hour ago, Stewart777 said:Got a question about side quests. Are they optional, meaning can you leave them in the staging area indefinitely?
They have no threat strength so that is not a problem, but they do have text like for instance with Guardians of the Jungle , the only thing that would have to be done is raise each locations threat by 1.
At the start of the quest phase you decide which quest (side or not) is the current quest for the turn. So you can ignore a side quest (from the encounter deck or one of the player's one) until you feel good on tackling it. Of course their effect keeps influencing the game even if they are not the current quest. You can find more information about sidequests in the Lost Realm boxed set.
Encounter side-quests usually have some obnoxious effect from being in play, so you can ignore them as long as you can stomach the penalty. User side-quests have some benefit from completing them, so you can ignore them forever but won't get any benefit until they are done.
Note that at the quest phase you decide which is the current quest for the *phase*, and not the *round*. So even if you quested against a side-quest during the quest phase, you can't use Legolas' response to place progress on it during the combat phase -- it would go towards the main quest.
Active locations will buffer progress placed on a side quest just like it would on a main quest.
16 hours ago, dalestephenson said:Encounter side-quests usually have some obnoxious effect from being in play, so you can ignore them as long as you can stomach the penalty. User side-quests have some benefit from completing them, so you can ignore them forever but won't get any benefit until they are done.
Note that at the quest phase you decide which is the current quest for the *phase*, and not the *round*. So even if you quested against a side-quest during the quest phase, you can't use Legolas' response to place progress on it during the combat phase -- it would go towards the main quest.
Active locations will buffer progress placed on a side quest just like it would on a main quest.
Let me see if I understand you correctly.
- A side-quest doesn't take the place of a location, rather it is put into play alongside an active location.
- Core Legolas' response would not go toward the side-quest, it would bypass this and rather go directly onto the main quest/active location.
17 hours ago, dalestephenson said:Note that at the quest phase you decide which is the current quest for the *phase*, and not the *round*. So even if you quested against a side-quest during the quest phase, you can't use Legolas' response to place progress on it during the combat phase -- it would go towards the main quest.
You are indeed correct, my mistake.
44 minutes ago, Stewart777 said:- A si de-quest doesn't take the place of a location, rather it is put into play alongside an active location.
- Core Legolas' response would not go toward the side-quest, it would bypass this and rather go directly onto the main quest/active location.
Basically if you choose so during the Quest Phase a side-quest can become the current quest, that is to say the quest card that receives the progress tokens during the Quest Resolution step. Outside of the quest phase the current quest is still the top card of the quest deck (sidequests are not part of the quest deck, even though I usually put them near the quest deck in the play area). There are sometimes effects that take place when a side-quest becomes the current quest, see the Guardians of the Jungle you put for an example before.
Got a few more. I know some of these might seem obvious but I want to be sure.
1) Does Erebor Hammersmith 's response
QuoteResponse: After you play Erebor Hammersmith, return the topmost attachment in any player's discard pile to his hand.
trigger every time you play/exhaust him or only once, after he enters play the first time. I ask because Miner of the Iron Hills ' response is a little differently worded in that it says
QuoteResponse: After Miner of the Iron Hills enters play, choose and discard 1 Condition attachment from play.
which would lead one to conclude that a condition is discarded only when Miner enters play for the first time. Do I have this right?
2) The Savage Souths ' response reads
QuoteWhen Revealed: Each player discards the top 5 cards of his deck. Each player discards each card he controls that shares a title with any of the 5 cards he just discarded.
By "control" do they mean, cards that are in play or additionally cards that are in your hand as well? Because technically you don't control the cards in your hand yet, or not?
3) And now for my favourite who continually bugs me... I had 1 Terrible Fever already attached to my questing hero when I drew another Terrible Fever! Does this mean I have to attach a second TF to the same hero (as no other heroes were questing), so 2 Terrible Fevers attached to 1 hero?
Edited by Stewart7771/ Both trigger only once, when the card go into play. It trigger even if you use a sneak attack with miner of the irons hills, but only trigger if you play it (usually pay it with resources from your hand) for erebor hammersmith.
2/ Only cards in play are affected, not cards in hand. You are right!
3/ Yes
19 minutes ago, Rouxxor said:1/ Both trigger only once, when the card go into play. It trigger even if you use a sneak attack with miner of the irons hills, but only trigger if you play it (usually pay it with resources from your hand) for erebor hammersmith.
2/ Only cards in play are affected, not cards in hand. You are right!
3/ Yes
Great thanks. Regards 2, I lost a Ally Gandalf like this as I was too cautious and discarded one from my hand, instead of only from play. I was not happy...
"After you play" means you have to actually play the card to trigger the effect.
After it enters play" means any effect that causes the given card to enter play (like sneak attack) would trigger the effect.
5 minutes ago, Wandalf the Gizzard said:"After you play" means you have to actually play the card to trigger the effect.
After it enters play" means any effect that causes the given card to enter play (like sneak attack) would trigger the effect.
Yeah but do you see the difference between the 2 cards. The way Erebor Hammersmith is worded ( After you play Erebor Hammersmith,...) could mean that every time you play it the effect is triggered, where as with Miner it is quite clear that it is only when Miner "enters play".
1 hour ago, Stewart777 said:trigger every time you play/exhaust him or only once,
41 minutes ago, Stewart777 said:( After you play Erebor Hammersmith,...) could mean that every time you play it the effect is triggered,
The way you have written this, it makes it sound like "play" is something you will do repeatedly with a card. Maybe this is your source of confusion? "Playing" a card means paying its cost and putting it into play, usually from your hand. "Play" does not mean "exhaust" or "use" the card, so it's not something you will do repeatedly.
Yes, you play a card once, therefore any given instance of a response to that can only trigger once.
15 minutes ago, GrandSpleen said:
The way you have written this, it makes it sound like "play" is something you will do repeatedly with a card. Maybe this is your source of confusion? "Playing" a card means paying its cost and putting it into play, usually from your hand. "Play" does not mean "exhaust" or "use" the card, so it's not something you will do repeatedly.
Ah ok, so it actually refers to a specific action. Got it.