Crits and Flak

By Atromix, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Pretty simple question, If a ship attacks a squadron with its anti squadron armament and it rolls a critical, does that count as one damage, or a miss like when a squadron rolls a crit?

It is a miss.

The Flechette Torpedo card can do a crit effect to a squadron it is flakking but it discards the dice to do so.

43 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

The Flechette Torpedo card can do a crit effect to a squadron it is flakking but it discards the dice to do so.

To build on this, you discard a black crit which is always a facing with a damage and a crit icon. You give up the damage from the damage icon to activate the ability.

Because when you attack squadrons crits do (almost) nothing, and accuracy can be less important it is best to think of dice as follows:

Blue: 50% chance of 1 damage.

Black: 75% chance of 1 damage

Red (Quasar Fire II only for flak, Headhunters only from quads (?)): 25% chance of 1 damage, 12.5% chance of 2 damage.

Making blacks the most damaging anti squadron die (unless facing scatter aces) and blues not as reliable as they are versus ships.

1 hour ago, Mad Cat said:

It is a miss.

The Flechette Torpedo card can do a crit effect to a squadron it is flakking but it discards the dice to do so.

No.

Flechette torps is NOT a crit effect.

Flechettes allow u you SPEND A DIE with a Crit symbol.

Very different.

2 hours ago, Green Knight said:

No.

Flechette torps is NOT a crit effect.

Flechettes allow u you SPEND A DIE with a Crit symbol.

Very different.

Indeed.

”Squadrons cannot use or be subject to critical effects unless the effect says otherwise.”

This is why Bomber is what it is.