What happens when you fail a decloak??

By Blail Blerg, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Can you try and decloak again?

No.

No. Spending a cloak token in the System phase is best understood as a once-per-opportunity effect. If you fail, you don't move and you keep your cloak token.

So... by that logic, can you intentionally fail a decloak to ignore the effects of the Illicit Cloaking device? Doesn't seem right, either...

6 minutes ago, RejjeN said:

So... by that logic, can you intentionally fail a decloak to ignore the effects of the Illicit Cloaking device? Doesn't seem right, either...

It's probably kinda small fries. If ever there's a problem ship, I'm sure there's some way to issue a specific ruling (like it could cause you do discard the cloak token without effect if you fail a decloak), or maybe even ban Cloaking Device on that specific ship through the App. FFG banned some specific combinations of cards in the Star Wars LCG.

1 hour ago, RejjeN said:

So... by that logic, can you intentionally fail a decloak to ignore the effects of the Illicit Cloaking device? Doesn't seem right, either...

you have to "decloak or discard your cloaking token". either you roll and lose the token or you just lose the token. you have to do one or the other. so fail on purpose, in this case you still end up with no cloak token

not according to the recent rules clarifications.

Q: If a ship with Cloaking Device [Illicit] rolls a focus result and then fails while attempting to decloak, what happens?

A: The ship does not remove its cloak token.

4 minutes ago, Kanawolf said:

not according to the recent rules clarifications.

Q: If a ship with Cloaking Device [Illicit] rolls a focus result and then fails while attempting to decloak, what happens?

A: The ship does not remove its cloak token.

Yeah... I think they miss called that one. It should be you lose the token.

But hey, their game their rules.

Edited by Croste
Spelling
3 hours ago, Croste said:

Yeah... I think they miss called that one. It should be you lose the token.

But hey, their game their rules.

To me it looks like this is consistent with how failed actions are ruled. You choose either to loose the token or decloak, then if the declaok fails you can't go back to an earlier choice. Just like when you fail an action, you can't go back to choose another one. The fact that the failure might be considered a positive outcome doesn't matter for the ruling.

Choosing to decloak yes. But if your forced to decloak due to a bum roll it should be one or the other must happen. I see it as the device bonking out. You should be decloaked in some way.

As per the rules, sure you don't get a different action if you fail the first.

I just feel that you either just materialize were your at, or you have the advantage of materilising at a different location. But you must materialize. The cloaking device has went kapoot. It should stop working.

But again that just my thoughts.

Cloaking device should have the words, "you must". Since it doesn't, you get a choice. The decloak fails, you keep cloaked.

Not perfect, but there it is.

1 hour ago, Croste said:

Cloaking device should have the words, "you must". Since it doesn't, you get a choice. The decloak fails, you keep cloaked.

Not perfect, but there it is.

While their ruling is what it is, outside of this specific instance adhere to the Rules Reference. Pertinent section: http://infinitearenas.com/xw2rules/index.php?page=card-interpretation

Yeah I get it. I just like how 1.0 version worked. Or rather I agree with its consequences when you have a bum roll. In 1.0 it's discarded (the upgrade at least). Now it can kind of be played to your advantage.

Edited by Croste

Q: Does the StarViper -class Attack Platform’s Microthrusters ship ability affect the barrel roll that results from becoming tractored?

A: Microthrusters does affect this barrel roll. The player whose effect assigned the tractor token determines the direction and position of the template.

I don't like this ruling either. Lol.

I feel the tractor beam is forcing the B roll, so it should be a standard B roll. But it's not dealt with that way. So, whatev's.

The rules are the rules.

Edited by Croste
4 hours ago, Croste said:

Q: Does the StarViper -class Attack Platform’s Microthrusters ship ability affect the barrel roll that results from becoming tractored?

A: Microthrusters does affect this barrel roll. The player whose effect assigned the tractor token determines the direction and position of the template.

I don't like this ruling either. Lol.

I feel the tractor beam is forcing the B roll, so it should be a standard B roll. But it's not dealt with that way. So, whatev's.

The rules are the rules.

Interestingly, if the Starviper ever gets a cloak token somehow (no current way, since they don't have an illicit slot, and no other abilities or upgrades can assign cloak tokens to them), they'll do the bendy bank Echo decloaks.

45 minutes ago, theBitterFig said:

Interestingly, if the Starviper ever gets a cloak token somehow (no current way, since they don't have an illicit slot, and no other abilities or upgrades can assign cloak tokens to them), they'll do the bendy bank Echo decloaks.

With 1 straights.

2 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

With 1 straights.

Small ships use the 2 template now when they're decloaking. Medium and Larges use the 1.

1 banks even. The sv card specifies 1 bank templates and would override the standard decloak rules.

2 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

With 1 straights.

Well...

25 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

1 banks even. The sv card specifies 1 bank templates and would override the standard decloak rules.

It just specifies replacing the straight template with the bank template, but says nothing about speed. As such, 1 speed or 2 speed would remain the same. This was one of those things where, thinking about the possible interaction, I went back to read the cards before posting. I know I've messed up with the 2e hangover plenty of times.

latest?cb=20180910161518

Huh ok i stand corrected.