So from the kraytfire, this came up. It quickly entered the "but I'm an architect" and "muh ships" level of discussion, so I thought I'd re-ask here. I'd love it if someone can break the logic below. Latest Rules Reference is being applied.
http://xwing-miniatures-second-edition.wikia.com/wiki/"Vizier"?file=Swx75_card2_vizier.png
Both mentions of AA on Vizer, for example, call the AA a maneuver.
Rules reference pages that are relative here: 3 (activation), 13 (maneuver), and 14 overlap
A ship with AA
activates
.
ACTIVATION PHASE
The Activation Phase is the third phase of a round. During this phase, each
ship activates, one at a time, starting with the ship with the lowest initiative
and continuing in ascending order.
Each ship activates by resolving the following steps in order:
1. Reveal Dial: The ship’s assigned dial is revealed by flipping it faceup
and then placing it next to its ship card.
2. Execute Maneuver: The ship executes the maneuver selected on the
revealed dial.
3. Perform Action: The ship may perform
one
action.
Prior to revealing the dial, AA triggers. Since the activation step is labeled 1-3, we'll call AA 0.5 of the activation (other suggestions are welcome).
0.5 - aileron maneuver, vizer moves and overlaps a friendly ship.
OVERLAP
While a ship executes a maneuver or otherwise moves, it overlaps an object
if the ship’s final position would physically be on top of an object.
A ship fully executes a maneuver if it does not overlap a ship. If a ship
executes a maneuver and overlaps a ship, it must partially execute that
maneuver by performing the following steps:
1. Move the ship backward along the template until it is no longer on top of
any other ships. While doing so, adjust the position of the ship so that the
hashmarks in the middle of both sets of guides remains centered over the
line down the middle of the template.
2. Once the ship is no longer on top of any other ship, place it so that it is
touching the last ship it backed over. This may result in the ship returning
to its starting position.
3. The ship skips its Perform Action step.
• Even though a ship that partially executes a maneuver must skip its
Perform Action step, it can still perform actions granted from other game
effects.
• Even if a ship partially executes a maneuver, it is still treated as having
executed a maneuver of the indicated speed, bearing, and difficulty.
So the turn so far looks like this:
0.5 - AA Maneuver, bump. Overlap rules are applied. Nothing in overlapping rules state what phase they're relevant in.
1.0 - Reveal dial. Blue 2 straight revealed.
2.0 - Execute maneuver. Vizer flies over the small base he overlapped.
3.0 - Perform action step. This step is skipped (?) based on the overlap rules that were triggered in 0.5.
I don't think this is AA as intended, but I can't find a way around it as written. Using ANY available printed rules language including FAQ and errata, can anyone refute this? AA triggering in the systems phase (ala decloaking) doesn't help unless it gets errata'd to be a move, not a maneuver, that could still be partially executed, similar to Arvyl.