Question about event cards

By Garden gnome2, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hello! My first post here.

I recently bought the game and have only tested it a few times. Trough search I found the answers to most of my questions, but some remain.

Event cards like Pestilence and Angel I understand: A player lands on a draw card space, draws Pestilence. It effects all in that region, it is discarded and then the players turn ends.

But how does cards like Blizzard work? A player lands on a draw card space, draws Blizzard. It effects all players for two rounds, but when is it discarded? After the two rounds, and if so does it count as one card on that space where it was drawn?

Evil darkness? Player A draws ED, he is good so he will miss his next turn. Player B is also good so he will miss his next turn. Player C is evil, so he makes his move, lands on a space and becomes good. Does he miss his next turn? I don't understand at what time the card is discarded.

Siren and Storm are two more examples of cards i don't really know how to use.

Hope someone can help me whit this happy.gif Hope my english is understandable!!

Garden Gnome said:

But how does cards like Blizzard work? A player lands on a draw card space, draws Blizzard. It effects all players for two rounds, but when is it discarded? After the two rounds, and if so does it count as one card on that space where it was drawn?

The blizard stays on the space during those 2 rounds. after that, then it is discarded.

It counts as a card on that space as normal.

Garden Gnome said:

Evil darkness? Player A draws ED, he is good so he will miss his next turn. Player B is also good so he will miss his next turn. Player C is evil, so he makes his move, lands on a space and becomes good. Does he miss his next turn? I don't understand at what time the card is discarded.

Evil darkness is immediately discarded after it is activated.

player C can make his move as normal. ( it does not matter anymore if he become good in his turn.

The other 2 players (A +B must miss their next turn.

Velhart said:

The blizard stays on the space during those 2 rounds. after that, then it is discarded.

It counts as a card on that space as normal.

Evil darkness is immediately discarded after it is activated.

player C can make his move as normal. ( it does not matter anymore if he become good in his turn.

The other 2 players (A +B must miss their next turn.

Ok, thanks Velhart! Hope i used the quote button the right way.. happy.gif

So, the Siren card is also discarded right away? It makes all the players in that region miss one turn and is immediatley discarded?

The Evil Darkness also remains on the space, until its effects have ended!

Especially so, when there are 6 players of varying alignments.

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

The Evil Darkness also remains on the space, until its effects have ended!

Especially so, when there are 6 players of varying alignments.

Ell.

OK, so what does that meen? It only effects the players who are good at the time the card is drawn?

Player A draws the Evil Darkness in the Hills and places it there (he is good), Player B is evil, Player C is neutral, player D is evil, player E is good.

Player B takes his turn, player C misses his turn, player D takes his turn, player E misses his turn, and finally player A misses his turn. The Evil Darkness is then discarded.

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

Player A draws the Evil Darkness in the Hills and places it there (he is good), Player B is evil, Player C is neutral, player D is evil, player E is good.

Player B takes his turn, player C misses his turn, player D takes his turn, player E misses his turn, and finally player A misses his turn. The Evil Darkness is then discarded.

Ell.

Ok, thanks! Now I understand when the card is discarded happy.gif But lets say that players B turns good during his turn, does he miss his next turn then? Or does the card only affect them who are not evil when it is drawn/activated? Ans if so, is the card still discarded after player A's missed turn?

Hope you understand what I meen happy.gif

Garden Gnome said:

talismanamsilat said:

Player A draws the Evil Darkness in the Hills and places it there (he is good), Player B is evil, Player C is neutral, player D is evil, player E is good.

Player B takes his turn, player C misses his turn, player D takes his turn, player E misses his turn, and finally player A misses his turn. The Evil Darkness is then discarded.

Ell.

Ok, thanks! Now I understand when the card is discarded happy.gif But lets say that players B turns good during his turn, does he miss his next turn then? Or does the card only affect them who are not evil when it is drawn/activated? Ans if so, is the card still discarded after player A's missed turn?

Hope you understand what I meen happy.gif

The Druid or a character with the Druid Staff, must convert to evil at the moment when the Evil Darkness is revealed. This is a permitted alignment change. (If the Temporal Change Spell is introduced into a new expansion, this will also be permitted.) Evil Darkness is discarded after player A's turn!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

The Druid or a character with the Druid Staff, must convert to evil at the moment when the Evil Darkness is revealed. This is a permitted alignment change. (If the Temporal Change Spell is introduced into a new expansion, this will also be permitted.) Evil Darkness is discarded after player A's turn!

Ell.

I see, thanks!! But what I am wondering is if the card can affect Players until it is discarded or if just affect the players when it is activated?

For example: If player A draws Siren it affects all players in the region. Player B is in the region, so he misses his turn. Player C is in another region but lands in the affected region on his move. As the Siren card isn't discarded yet does it affect him also?

Was thinking something similar in the Evil Darkness example. An evil character lands in a space that turns him good or neutral, Evil Darkness isn't discarded yet. Does he the miss his next turn?

In short, does an event card affect players as long it is in play... Or only players it can affect when it is revealed/activated.

Garden Gnome said:

talismanamsilat said:

The Druid or a character with the Druid Staff, must convert to evil at the moment when the Evil Darkness is revealed. This is a permitted alignment change. (If the Temporal Change Spell is introduced into a new expansion, this will also be permitted.) Evil Darkness is discarded after player A's turn!

Ell.

I see, thanks!! But what I am wondering is if the card can affect Players until it is discarded or if just affect the players when it is activated?

For example: If player A draws Siren it affects all players in the region. Player B is in the region, so he misses his turn. Player C is in another region but lands in the affected region on his move. As the Siren card isn't discarded yet does it affect him also?

Was thinking something similar in the Evil Darkness example. An evil character lands in a space that turns him good or neutral, Evil Darkness isn't discarded yet. Does he the miss his next turn?

In short, does an event card affect players as long it is in play... Or only players it can affect when it is revealed/activated.

It only affects players when it its first revealed!!!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

It only affects players when it its first revealed!!!

Ell.

Thanks for your help happy.gif Now I understand.

Two other things puzzeled me when I played a test game:

1. My character became a toad, I landed an a space and drew Bag of Gold. I can't pick it up so does the card or the coin stay on the board?

2. I'm on the quest to get to town. The rule book states that I must complete my quest as soon as possible. Does that meen that my only goal for the time is to land on the town space?

Garden Gnome said:

talismanamsilat said:

It only affects players when it its first revealed!!!

Ell.

Thanks for your help happy.gif Now I understand.

Two other things puzzeled me when I played a test game:

1. My character became a toad, I landed an a space and drew Bag of Gold. I can't pick it up so does the card or the coin stay on the board?

2. I'm on the quest to get to town. The rule book states that I must complete my quest as soon as possible. Does that meen that my only goal for the time is to land on the town space?

answer 1: My opinion is that you take the coin and ditch it on the space.

answer 2: If the quest is only saying that you must go to the city, then you have complete it as soon as you have land on it.

Velhart said:

Thanks for your help happy.gif Now I understand.

Two other things puzzeled me when I played a test game:

1. My character became a toad, I landed an a space and drew Bag of Gold. I can't pick it up so does the card or the coin stay on the board?

2. I'm on the quest to get to town. The rule book states that I must complete my quest as soon as possible. Does that meen that my only goal for the time is to land on the town space?

answer 1: My opinion is that you take the coin and ditch it on the space.

answer 2: If the quest is only saying that you must go to the city, then you have complete it as soon as you have land on it.

Thanks for putting up with my questions!

I was thinking the same with the coin.

Regarding answer 2: I know that when I land on the town space I get teleported to the warlock and handed a talisman, then my turn ends right away. Lets say that I get the quest to deliver one follower, then I'm forced to do so right away if I have one.

So I was wondering (with the town quest) if I have to take the shortest way and do everything possible to get to the town as fast as possible? Or can I linger and build my character?

Garden Gnome said:

Velhart said:

Thanks for your help happy.gif Now I understand.

Two other things puzzeled me when I played a test game:

1. My character became a toad, I landed an a space and drew Bag of Gold. I can't pick it up so does the card or the coin stay on the board?

2. I'm on the quest to get to town. The rule book states that I must complete my quest as soon as possible. Does that meen that my only goal for the time is to land on the town space?

answer 1: My opinion is that you take the coin and ditch it on the space.

answer 2: If the quest is only saying that you must go to the city, then you have complete it as soon as you have land on it.

Thanks for putting up with my questions!

I was thinking the same with the coin.

Regarding answer 2: I know that when I land on the town space I get teleported to the warlock and handed a talisman, then my turn ends right away. Lets say that I get the quest to deliver one follower, then I'm forced to do so right away if I have one.

So I was wondering (with the town quest) if I have to take the shortest way and do everything possible to get to the town as fast as possible? Or can I linger and build my character?

You may linger and wanderer gui%C3%B1o.gif

However, if you must deliver a follower or object and you have one, then you must discard it right away and you teleport directly to the warlock.

How we play quests is you must complete them as soon as possible. If you've been given an order to go to a location then you have to head in that location, and hover around that area, to the point where you land on the closest possible space to that location *even if it's not beneficial* I'm not sure if anyone else does that, or if that is what was the intention of the quests, but it makes it more fun.

Also, say you have to slay a dragon, if there is a dragon on the board then you have to go take it out. I would argue that if it was nigh-impossible for you to do that, then you would have to level up before it was feasible, still keeping in vein with 'as soon as possible'

inkblob said:

How we play quests is you must complete them as soon as possible. If you've been given an order to go to a location then you have to head in that location, and hover around that area, to the point where you land on the closest possible space to that location *even if it's not beneficial* I'm not sure if anyone else does that, or if that is what was the intention of the quests, but it makes it more fun.

Also, say you have to slay a dragon, if there is a dragon on the board then you have to go take it out. I would argue that if it was nigh-impossible for you to do that, then you would have to level up before it was feasible, still keeping in vein with 'as soon as possible'

What about a situation like this: Character moves to Warlock's Cave, decides to draw a Quest. Gets "Visit Cursed Glade". Next turn, he rolls a 5, meaning Hills next to Cursed Glade or Woods next to Temple. But in the Woods there is already the Pathfinder (characters encountering him get to teleport to any space they choose in the same Region). Seems, well, stupid (IMO of course) to force a character to move to the Hills when Woods - Pathfinder - Cursed Glade is a guaranteed completion of the Quest in two turns.

Dam said:

inkblob said:

How we play quests is you must complete them as soon as possible. If you've been given an order to go to a location then you have to head in that location, and hover around that area, to the point where you land on the closest possible space to that location *even if it's not beneficial* I'm not sure if anyone else does that, or if that is what was the intention of the quests, but it makes it more fun.

Also, say you have to slay a dragon, if there is a dragon on the board then you have to go take it out. I would argue that if it was nigh-impossible for you to do that, then you would have to level up before it was feasible, still keeping in vein with 'as soon as possible'

What about a situation like this: Character moves to Warlock's Cave, decides to draw a Quest. Gets "Visit Cursed Glade". Next turn, he rolls a 5, meaning Hills next to Cursed Glade or Woods next to Temple. But in the Woods there is already the Pathfinder (characters encountering him get to teleport to any space they choose in the same Region). Seems, well, stupid (IMO of course) to force a character to move to the Hills when Woods - Pathfinder - Cursed Glade is a guaranteed completion of the Quest in two turns.

Thanks for your answers happy.gif I guess there isn't a clear answer to this. It would make sens to use the pathfinder if your movement allows it, if not you are forced to head towards Cursed Glade or whatever location your quest states.

I think this is the way I will handle this quest.

I have another fast question happy.gif

The Destruction spell states that it can be used immediatley after your movement, does this meen that you can use it on a adventure card drawn on the space where you land? Or does it meen right before you draw a card?

Garden Gnome said:

The Destruction spell states that it can be used immediatley after your movement, does this meen that you can use it on a adventure card drawn on the space where you land? Or does it meen right before you draw a card?

You can use it on a card that is already laying on the space, after you land on it

Velhart said:

Garden Gnome said:

The Destruction spell states that it can be used immediatley after your movement, does this meen that you can use it on a adventure card drawn on the space where you land? Or does it meen right before you draw a card?

You can use it on a card that is already laying on the space, after you land on it

Ok, I make my movement. Lands on a draw one card space, there is alredy an enemy there. I use my Destruction immediatley after my move and destroys the enemy, the turn ends. Is this correct?

Was thinking about another thing when i asked about the get-to-town-quest. Lets say you have 3 spaces to get to town but you roll a 4, are you forced to use fate to re-roll the die?

Garden Gnome said:

Velhart said:

Garden Gnome said:

The Destruction spell states that it can be used immediatley after your movement, does this meen that you can use it on a adventure card drawn on the space where you land? Or does it meen right before you draw a card?

You can use it on a card that is already laying on the space, after you land on it

Ok, I make my movement. Lands on a draw one card space, there is alredy an enemy there. I use my Destruction immediatley after my move and destroys the enemy, the turn ends. Is this correct?

Was thinking about another thing when i asked about the get-to-town-quest. Lets say you have 3 spaces to get to town but you roll a 4, are you forced to use fate to re-roll the die?

answer 1: No..( see faq 1.0 ) you may use destruction on a card in his space after you completed your move. after that,..you may draw another card

answer 2: You are not forced to move to the city with that warlock quest. But if you land on the city, then you have completed that quest

Velhart said:

answer 1: No..( see faq 1.0 ) you may use destruction on a card in his space after you completed your move. after that,..you may draw another card

answer 2: You are not forced to move to the city with that warlock quest. But if you land on the city, then you have completed that quest

Thanks! Must have missed it when I read it happy.gif (faq1.0)

But if you get the quest to deliver one follower, you are forced to do so as soon as possible (as soon as you have a follower). What is different with the town quest. It would seem as you are forced to get to town (complete is as soon as possible), and if so maybe you are forced to use fate to re-roll the die?

Have I missed something here also? It would be fun to hear how other players handle this.

Garden Gnome said:

Velhart said:

answer 1: No..( see faq 1.0 ) you may use destruction on a card in his space after you completed your move. after that,..you may draw another card

answer 2: You are not forced to move to the city with that warlock quest. But if you land on the city, then you have completed that quest

Thanks! Must have missed it when I read it happy.gif (faq1.0)

But if you get the quest to deliver one follower, you are forced to do so as soon as possible (as soon as you have a follower). What is different with the town quest. It would seem as you are forced to get to town (complete is as soon as possible), and if so maybe you are forced to use fate to re-roll the die?

Have I missed something here also? It would be fun to hear how other players handle this.

As soon as you can complete a quest, then you must do it.

If you have a follower, or object, then you have complete it right away.

But with a city/village quest, you can decide if you want to land on the city/village or not.

As soon as you land on it, then you must complete it right away.

You are not forced to move towards that direction.

Is that mentioned anywhere? If we're playing this too strict then I'd like to know

Velhart said:

As soon as you can complete a quest, then you must do it.

If you have a follower, or object, then you have complete it right away.

But with a city/village quest, you can decide if you want to land on the city/village or not.

As soon as you land on it, then you must complete it right away.

You are not forced to move towards that direction.

Now I understand what you meen happy.gif

As soon as you land on the town space you are forced to comlete it! Now I see, it would make sens to use this rule. Sorry for not understanding right away. Never thought of it that way.

Thanks again for all the answers happy.gif

Here’s a few questions about events for myself. Be aware that many of us are ESL (English Second Language), so that might be part of the problem.

Most events have an obvious trigger “no matter what” and an obvious “heads to the discard pile”, but a few… don’t.

The Horse Thief, if I remember well, goes (paraphrased)… Lose all your horses, THEN the thief goes to the discard pile. After we looked up the words, it could be…

1-Check to see if you have horses, and lose them all, THEN, no matter what, the horse thief departs.

Or…

2-Check to see if you have horses. If you have none, none go to the discard pile, event stays. Once someone lands on that square (usually by being forced to), once a horse hits the discard pile, THEN, the horse thief departs.

See, THEN for the Horse thief (and similar IF/THEN for Demigod, etc…) could either be linked to the IF (checking) or the DISCARD. If that makes sense… Or, in specific, horse thief, as written could be "once a horse hits the discard pile, THEN the thief is discarded" "Once the demigod grants a spell, THEN he is discarded). Till then, the Demigod bums food and ale, like Odin in the old stories. Note that there are some cards (Pegasus and Mage I think) that very explicitly say “Whether you use it or not, card goes to the discard pile.) which adds to the confusion i.e. why bother explicitly saying on some events they are discarded no matter what, if events were discarded immediately after being drawn as a "standard" practise...

-

To further confuse the issue, some events never say they are discarded. The sliding (?) crushing (?) walls from the Dungeon don’t say they go to the discard pile. I'm talking about the ones you roll 2D6 ST on. On the one hand, you could logically state “It’s not a place, it goes” (then again, logic has sometimes little to do in games). But, other logic says “Other events have clear discard criteria, even bizarre ones like Howl of the Wendigo.” So, if there’s no discard criteria… event is permanent?

We did non-discard info events being permanent. Of course, that can lead to pretty odds combinations. With Dark Denizens, we had the crushing/sliding walls appear in the planes. Yeah, sure. In the middle of featureless plains, there are 2 walls. Somehow, we are all stupid enough to check in the middle between them despite the blood and bone splatter…

I’m curious as to what’s thought of as standard for Events if no clear discards.