Blinded Gunners + Screed

By jp82729, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

OK, here is one that came up during a Vassal game. Here's the situation:

  1. Opponent was running a fleet with Screed & Demo
  2. Demo had a Blinded Gunners crit on it. - "While attacking, you cannot spend accuracy icons."
  3. Demo attacked one of my ships. Result included at one red accuracy and one black blank.

Question: Can Screed be used to spend the red die with the accuracy to flip the black blank to a hit/crit while Blinded Gunners is in effect?

We played it as "no, Screed can't spend it", but I'm thinking that this may have actually been incorrect. Screed is spending a die , and not specifically the icon itself for any accuracy effect. It seems the crit text would have to be more along the lines of "...cannot spend accuracy results." or "...cannot spend dice with accuracy icons." to prevent Screeding.

Spending a die is not spending an icon. Both require to remove a die but I wouldn't say Screed is preventee for that. I could be completely wrong though.

Thanks for checking. It’s a little fuzzy, but if I was looking at it as an outside observer, I probably would have ruled just how we did it. I was the one with Screed btw.

Edited by CommanderDave

There are several other cards where this may come into play as well:

Leading shots- "...spend 1 blue die..." - Can a blue accuracy be spent to reroll when Blinded Gunners is in effect? This one seems very similar to Screed.

Close-Range Intel Scan - "...spend 1 die with a accuracy icon..." - This one is a little more nitpicky - is spending an accuracy icon (per blinded gunners) the same as spending a die with an accuracy icon? . I'm inclined to say this case is not allowed, even though the accuracy is not being spent for its usual effect.

Edited by jp82729

Did Screed spend the accuracy icon?

He did not.

He spent the die.

Question answered.

2 hours ago, Green Knight said:

Did the ship spend the accuracy icon?

It did not.

It spent the die.

Question answered.

Screed never spend anything. A FRIENDLY SHIP does so FTFY ?

Green Knight is right, Screed is just spending a die. Spending an accuracy icon is different. It is even differentiated in the RRG page 7:

• Spend: When a die or die icon is spent, remove that die from the attack pool.

2 hours ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:

Green Knight is right, Screed is just spending a die. Spending an accuracy icon is different. It is even differentiated in the RRG page 7:

• Spend: When a die or die icon is spent, remove that die from the attack pool.

Green Knight is always right ?

On 9/25/2018 at 9:03 AM, Lemmiwinks86 said:

Green Knight is right...

Stop saying stuff like that before he --

On 9/25/2018 at 11:36 AM, Green Knight said:

Green Knight is always right ?

**** it.

11 hours ago, rasproteus said:

Stop saying stuff like that before he --

**** it.

Sorry, my bad ☹️