Fighting resolve order

By Stefan, in Runewars

Hello there,

I just don't get the fighting. Every unit type in every initiative phase draws its cards, right? And then they are resolved attacker first in priority "orb-rout-damage", right? So, can I destroy enemy units BEFORE they act? And what happens to their cards drawn then? It really confuses me, don't know why.

All cards drawn are resolved, even if units die in the meantime. The orb-rout-damage is mostly there to add a little bit of "hmm, decisions decisions", because how you apply routs, for instance, can affect where you might be allowed to apply damage, which could affect future rounds of battle or the final outcome.

IE, if your opponent has a rout that you have to apply, and you have a 2-health unit and 2 1-health units, do you rout the 2-health unit, or one of the 1-health units? If your 1-health units haven't gone yet, but your 2-health unit has, it could affect things. But you don't know how much damage you will take yet - 0, 1, 2, etc? If you rout your 2-health unit, and then your opponent shows 2 damage, you will lose the two 1-health units, reducing you to 0 strength. But if you routed a 1-health unit, you could apply the damage such that you still have 1 unit remaining! This could affect strength.

The only time a card that is drawn really isn't "resolved" is in certain situations with Orbs; if the attacker's Orbs cause some effect that makes the defender's Orb un-usable, then it would be ignored. Generally, this only happens if the defender's orb requires "standing units" (such as with the Berserker or Reanimate units). For instance, if the attacker's Orb routs your last Berserker, but you had an Orb, you can't use it, because to use the Berserker's orb, you must destroy a STANDING berserker (which you don't have anymore).

i believe you are drawing too many cards at once. it sounds like you are drawing tactics cards for all units at the start of the battle.

you should draw fate cards one initiative at a time. and if you have more than 1 unit at the same initiative then you draw for one type and after those resolve (and the defender resolves one type) then you draw and resolve for the second type at that initiative.

so it is very easy for units not to draw cards durring a battle. but all drawn cards resolve.

@Sig: Thanks a lot, I did it right then.

@Klaxas: No, was right. Just got confused because, as well written as the rules are, the aspect with the combat fate cards was a bit messy to me.