The card reads "Before you engage, roll 1 attack die. On a hit result, suffer 1 hit damage. Action: Repair this card."
If a ship has one hull left, rolls for this crit, and takes the final point of damage, does it still get to shoot? It came up in a game today where we both had Init 5 ships. Opponent had console fire from the last turn. I had initiative. I activated and reduced him to one hull point. As per the card, before he activated, he rolled (came up blank) and proceeded to kill my last ship. I congratulated him on his win and pointed out he was lucky that didn't kill him, because that crit applies damage before you activate, meaning it would have killed him before he activated. He insists simultaneous fire rule would over ride that. I argue that the wording is very specific that that last damage would take out a ship before it activates and gets to fire, just as it would had he took the last hit before activating in any other situation.
I agree thematically it should work that way because my damage from shots came at the same time his shots would have, but rules don't care about themes. If they did, crits received from simultaneous fire wouldn't take effect until after you both fire, but they do.