End Phase Initiative Order

By pyoinator, in X-Wing

In what order to effects trigger in the end phase? For example, I've been playing a lot of 4-LOM, could a guri with Virago boost out of range 1 with the title before 4-LOM passes the stress? So basically, does it trigger by player order, low-high initiative, or high-low initiative?

Player order and initiative both still come into play, I believe? Not sure if it’s high-low or vice verse.

I know it's initiative low-high in system and activation phase, initiative high-low in engagement, rules reference doesn't mention end phase though, not sure which order would make more sense.

I'd follow the rules under "Ability Que" in the rules reference.

Quote

ABILITY QUEUE

The ability queue is used to resolve the timing of multiple abilities that trigger during the same timing window. Abilities are resolved from the front of the queue to the back of the queue. These abilities are added to the back of the ability queue using the following rules:

1. If both players have abilities that triggered from the same event, the abilities are added to the ability queue in player order.

2. If a player has multiple abilities that triggered from the same event, that player chooses the order that those abilities are added to the ability queue.

3. If resolving an effect from the ability queue triggers additional effects, they are added to the front of the ability queue using the above rules.

• If there are game effects that share the same timing window as a player’s ability, the game effect is resolved first.

However, in the case of 4-Lom and Virago the timing is given. 4-Lom specifies "at the start of the end phase" and Virago is during the end phase. 4-Lom's effect processes before Virago's opportunity even comes about.

Card_Pilot_201.png Card_Upgrade_155.png

Another question came up tonight:

guri uses virago to perform a red boost, gaining a stress token.

but seven sister (crew) is nearby in a shuttle.

BUT: seven sister has spend her force charge during this round!!

what happens??

- everything is 'during the end phase': the virago boost AND the recovering of the force charge.

- Game effects are handled before player effects: so first the force charge recovers and THEN the virago boost happens? —>thus 7th sister HAS a force charge to spend?

thanks for help!

...quite confused I am (and this should NOT be the way...)

13 hours ago, Tellonius said:

- Game effects are handled before player effects: so first the force charge recovers and THEN the virago boost happens? —>thus 7th sister HAS a force charge to spend?

I would refer back to the passage quoted by @Frimmel above from RR 1.0.6.1 p3. In particular, this line:

"• If there are game effects that share the same timing window as a player’s ability, the game effect is resolved first."

Recurring charges and discarding round tokens are definitely game effects while 7th Sis is definitely a player ability so by RAW you get your force and the opportunity to spend it.

Side note: by this interpretation the tractor token also sticks around until the end of the next round as well since you are already past the point of discarding round tokens.

I seem to remember a ruling about Tavson and Electronic Baffle that said something along the lines of: no, stop trying to make loopholes, you can't get your reinforce early, stop.it at once!

If I'm remembering correctly, this should mean that you can't spend a newly recovered force during the end phase.

2 hours ago, Gilarius said:

I seem to remember a ruling about Tavson and Electronic Baffle that said something along the lines of: no, stop trying to make loopholes, you can't get your reinforce early, stop.it at once!

If I'm remembering correctly, this should mean that you can't spend a newly recovered force during the end phase.

Jupp, there’s this thread:

RAW seems clear (first the game effect = recover a force, then virago boost and 7th sis), but in this 'unofficial rules document' made by some judges

they 'ruled' it the other way round: charge recovering is the LAST thing you do in the end phase. Thus denying Tavson+Baffle and analog 7th sis doesn’t has a force at hand when Virago boosts.

All is unclear and no consensus in this forum...