Speed zero/G8 Projector - asteroid damage?

By Mad Cat, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

My ship begins a turn overlapping an asteroid, then next turn it slows to speed 0. Do I take a face up damage card at the end of my manoeuvre step?

What if my ship starts a turn on an asteroid at speed 1. I then try to move off it but an enemy G8 projector keeps me at speed 0 (temporarily)?

What if my ship were on the base instead of an asteroid in the above examples, could I remove a hull damage card? A fighter half on the base but unable to move due to being engaged cannot repair a damage.

Yes - to all of them really.

If u are speed 0, you do a speed zero maneuver. You don't actually move, but it's still a move :D

Engagement is different. Makes u unable to move (relatedly squads can move without actually moving).

1 hour ago, Mad Cat said:

My ship begins a turn overlapping an asteroid, then next turn it slows to speed 0. Do I take a face up damage card at the end of my manoeuvre step?

It depends on where it ended during the turn it begun overlapping the asteroid. If it didn't overlap it after its move then no, cause you know, it is no overlapping it anymore. ?

1 hour ago, Mad Cat said:

W hat if my ship starts a turn on an asteroid at speed 1. I then try to move off it but an enemy G8 projector keeps me at speed 0 (temporarily)?

Then you take the damage card as you moved and ended overlapping an asteroid.

1 hour ago, Mad Cat said:

What if my ship were on the base instead of an asteroid in the above examples, could I remove a hull damage card? A fighter half on the base but unable to move due to being engaged cannot repair a damage.

Yes it would. As you said the fighter is not moving so doesn't trigger. The ship is moving, at speed 0, but moving so trigger.

Note that a squadron can "move" also ending when it started and trigger the station or any other ability like strategic or Mithel.

Basically a speed 0 is still a maneuver as explained in the FAQ.

58 minutes ago, Green Knight said:

Yes - to all of them really.

If u are speed 0, you do a speed zero maneuver. You don't actually move, but it's still a move :D

Engagement is different. Makes u unable to move (relatedly squads can move without actually moving).

You missleading people how you dare! If the ship begun a turn over an asteroid and it changed to speed 0 during the NEXT turn it moved in between ?

On 9/21/2018 at 5:41 AM, ovinomanc3r said:

It  depends    on where it ended during the turn it begun overlapping the asteroid. If it didn't  overla  p it after its move then no, cause you know, it is no overlapping it anymore. ?      

So if you never hit the asteroid, you never hit the asteroid. Thanks, sheep.

On 9/21/2018 at 5:41 AM, ovinomanc3r said:

You    missleading people how you dare! If the ship beg  un a turn over an asteroid and it changed to  speed 0 during the  NEXT turn it mo  ved in be  tween  ?  

Omygosh my Raider moved speed 24 over the course of a game. Guess I’ve been lied to this whole time. And who says it didn’t land on another asteroid? Since we’re clearly being so serious and precise.

Edited by The Jabbawookie
10 minutes ago, The Jabbawookie said:

So if you never hit the asteroid, you never hit the asteroid. Thanks, sheep.

You're welcome. Not everyone can see a trap question when is right there.

11 minutes ago, The Jabbawookie said:

O mygosh my Raider moved speed 24 over the course of a game. Guess I’ve been lied to this whole time. And who says it didn’t land on another asteroid? Since we’re clearly being so serious and precise.

If we're clearly being so serious and precise it is obvious it didn't land on another asteroid or that would have been said.

... and this is why I stopped hanging out here.

On 9/21/2018 at 8:41 AM, ovinomanc3r said:
On 9/21/2018 at 7:15 AM, Mad Cat said:

My ship begins a turn overlapping an asteroid, then next turn it slows to speed 0. Do I take a face up damage card at the end of my manoeuvre step?

It depends on where it ended during the turn it begun overlapping the astero  id. If it didn't overlap it after its move then no, cause you know, it is no overlapping it anymore. ?

I imagine he meant "My ship ends a turn overlapping an asteroid, then next turn it slows to speed 0." While you're technically correct here, you're answer is not particularly helpful.

On 9/21/2018 at 7:15 AM, Mad Cat said:

My ship begins ends a turn overlapping an asteroid, then next turn it slows to speed  0. Do I take a face up damage card at the end of my manoeuvre step?  

What if my ship starts a turn on an asteroid at speed 1. I then try to move off it but an enemy G8 projector keeps me at speed 0 (temporarily)?

What if my ship were on the base instead of an asteroid in the above examples, could I remove a hull damage card? A fighter half on the base but unable to move due to being engaged cannot repair a damage.

To summarize: A maneuver at any speed for a ship (0-4) or squadron (0-5) is still considered "executing a maneuver", regardless of whether your ship or squad physically moved or not. This means any maneuver of speed 0 will trigger an overlap condition. Squadron engagement prevents movement all together (barring Intel), so an engaged squadron cannot trigger an overlap condition.

34 minutes ago, Astrodar said:

I imagine he meant "My ship ends a turn overlapping an asteroid, then next turn it slows to speed 0." While you're technically correct here, you're answer is not particularly helpful.

?

On 9/21/2018 at 2:41 PM, ovinomanc3r said:

Basically a speed 0 is still a maneuver as explained in the FAQ.

I think this helps despite I wrote FAQ instead of RRG where it is actually (Ship Movement, p11, last paragraph)

Also it is pretty clear I was joking.

2 hours ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Also  i  t is pretty clea  r I was joking  .

The crux of the issue is “not as clear as you think...”

One if the guidelines I’ve always tried to stress is to not have a sense of humour in rules, as someone will take you seriously.

23 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

The crux of the issue is “not as clear as you think...”

One if the guidelines I’ve always tried to stress is to not have a sense of humour in rules, as someone will take you seriously.

? ?

I do my best.

On 9/21/2018 at 5:41 AM, ovinomanc3r said:

Note that a squadron can "move" also ending when it started and trigger the station or any other ability like strategic or Mithel.

Wait, wait, wait. I totally missed that. So he can auto damage everyone he is engaged with even if he can't actually move? That seems kinda broken . . .

6 minutes ago, Captain Ordo N-11 said:

Wait, wait, wait. I totally missed that. So he can auto damage everyone he is engaged with even if he can't actually move? That seems kinda broken . . .

No

He has to be able to move.

At all.

He can just move nowhere as his move, then.

But When engaged, he cannot move.

22 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

No

He has to be able to move.

At all.

He can just move nowhere as his move, then.

But When engaged, he cannot move.

Oh thank you, I was kinda panicking for a moment. Thats what I thought but since I don't know the rules that well I figured maybe I was wrong. Though with intel he could trigger without moving while "engaged" yes?

Just now, Captain Ordo N-11 said:

Oh thank you, I was kinda panicking for a moment. Thats what I thought but since I don't know the rules that well I figured maybe I was wrong. Though with intel he could trigger without moving while "engaged" yes?

Yes. Intel grants engaged enemy squadrons Heavy, and Heavy squadrons do not prevent moving. So he is moving , he's just not going anywhere. Bonus points if you fly him around in little circles making laser sounds before setting him back down. ?