Do I spend the target lock?

By Jaden Corr, in X-Wing Rules Questions

In 1st edition most of the time a target lock was to be spend to perform a secondary weapon like proton torpedoes. The way I read the second edition proton torpedoes is you don’t spend the lock, but only need it. Is this correct?

Edited by Jaden Corr

Yes it seems now that you no longer spend the Lock to fire the Torpe or Missile.

Well, been playing that wrongly the first few games then. ?

They have become a little more reliable (maybe a little more powerful) than the ones in 1.0, although what's nice is we've lost the some of the over powered ones like Harpoons

Here's a case where 1e habits got in the way. Nothing on the Proton Torpedo card instructs you to discard your lock. While "read the cards" is typically mediocre advice, I know I've made mistakes by not fully reading 2e cards and presuming things worked like in 1e.

9 minutes ago, theBitterFig said:

Here's a case where 1e habits got in the way. Nothing on the Proton Torpedo card instructs you to discard your lock. While "read the cards" is typically mediocre advice, I know I've made mistakes by not fully reading 2e cards and presuming things worked like in 1e.

Yes, it’s like learning to ride my bike all over again. And to be honest... I like it. Had a blast with the game tonight, because we were focusing on stuff like this and came to the conclusion it benefited the game in so many ways. 2nd edition all the way!