Outmaneuver in 2.0

By Schu81, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Hello XWing Community!

I am wondering about the rules of Outmaneuver in XWing 2.0

What happens if you flank a ship, having the Outmaneuver Skill, but that ship is a turreted one?

Which arcs count as arcs and which don't? New ships seem to have a lot of arcs, or am I wrong?

6 minutes ago, Schu81 said:

Hello XWing Community!

I am wondering about the rules of Outmaneuver in XWing 2.0

What happens if you flank a ship, having the Outmaneuver Skill, but that ship is a turreted one?

Which arcs count as arcs and which don't? New ships seem to have a lot of arcs, or am I wrong?

An arc is an arc is an arc in this case.

Outmaneuver says:

Quote

While you perform a front arc attack, if you are not in the defender's firing arc, the defender rolls 1 fewer defense die.

So the attacker must be using the front arc to attack, but cannot be in any of the the defenders firing arcs. And "Firing Arc" is a defined term (page 4 of the Rules Reference):

Quote

A ship’s Firing Arcs include all shaded arcs on the ship’s ship token plus all turret arcs, if any.

So as long as the turret arc is pointing toward the flanking ship, the flanking ship would not get Outmaneuver.

Thanks for your answers, but I am still uncertain about this.

I am checking the 2.0 rules reference right now. On page 3 it says:

A RC

An arc is an area formed between the lines created by extending hash marks or arc lines printed on a ship token to range 3. A ship is in an arc if any part of its base is inside that area.

Wouldnt' that mean a K-Wing has got 4 arcs (front, left, back, right) and cant' be outmaneuvered ever, no matter where the turret is pointing at?

1 minute ago, Schu81 said:

A RC

An arc is an area formed between the lines created by extending hash marks or arc lines printed on a ship token to range 3. A ship is in an arc if any part of its base is inside that area.

Firing Arc is a subset of Arc.

Ah, yes! Now I get it. Thanks!

Firing Arc in general is referring to literally any potential firing arc (turret or otherwise)

But, Outmaneuver does not say "firing arc" it has the V symbol, which is SPECIFICALLY the forward 90 standard arc. Meaning if you are in a mobile arc but not in the forward V arc, outmaneuver triggers.

From rules:

A ship's firing arcs include all shaded arcs on the ships' ship token plus all [turret] arcs, if any.

edit: derp, nvm it doesnt trigger. The V arc is YOUR arc...duh...

Edited by Vineheart01

Outmaneuver does say firing arc:

"While you perform a [icon]frontarc[/icon] attack, if you are not in the defender's firing arc , the defender rolls 1 fewer defense die."