WanouMars Repaints

By WanouMars, in X-Wing Painting and Modification

Hi all!

After seeing a ton of cool repaints on the forum and the web, I decided to get started too!
I am an absolute beginner, so feedback will be most welcome :)

I would like to thank a few of the posters here, from which I picked a few ideas here and there.
I will add credits and links to the original posts when I get the chance.

I will post work in progress pictures in the second post, if any of you are interested.
Let me know if you want to know what products I used :)

I will use this as a blog, for now, and here's my first lessons learned:
- Don't paint too many models at the same time (I made 9 TIEs at the same time, after I completed my first repaint)
- Use lighter color than the intended color, as it will get darker with washes and gloss varnish

My first-ever repaint: A-Wing Ironman (credits to @Piscopas for the idea :) )

R0Y2RtD.jpg

A classic orange Tie Defender (grey and orange with Tamiya spray paint and masking tape - was challenging!)

znl1sYR.jpg

My Ghostbuster duo with Ghostbuster car and Slimer themed Tie Fighters (home made decals for testing):

pnHkT4z.jpg

R5j6A48.jpg

A Tie Advanced Prototype for trying a dark blue with home made Darth Vador decal:

eKgzJWX.jpg

The Imperial Gold Squadron (using spray paint and making tape - very tedious):

YJCknxA.jpg

Thanks for watching! :)

WanouMars

Full gallery: https://imgur.com/a/nWH0DNB

EDIT: added link to full galery

Edited by WanouMars
added link to full galery, added credits

* Reserved for links / credits / work in progress pictures *

Here are some pictures of work in progress, and lessons learned :)

Popping off the wings of various TIE models
- be gentle, rock them, twist them, repeat, but be gentle - I broke 1 Tie fighter and 1 Tie bomber and Super Glue isn't good enough to fix

xuWMl07.jpg

Apply primer