Declare attack without attack dice?

By >kkj, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Can i declare a attack without having attack dice in my armament?

You can do the step 1 of the attack, Declare target, but as soon as you reach step 2 the attack is canceled as you can't gather any dice.
Maay I ask why you want to declare an attack this way?

Because im working on a custom ability that reads as "Instead of attacking" and it will be both on unarmed and armed squadrons.

Edited by >kkj

Well Jendon does not need to be in range of an enemy squad to pass his attack to someone else. Check that wording and use similar.