Strategic and engaged

By Green Knight, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

If a squadron is engaged, can it then use it's Strategic keyword?

(Assuming there is a token at distance 1 oc)

Strategic triggers "after you end your movement", but engaged means there is no movement, or?

Input appreciated.

If you’re engaged you’ll need some special ability (like intel) to be able to move, but if you can move then you can use strategic.

No movement, no strategic. Non heavy engagement prevents movement.

Ginkapo beat me to it, but I will post this anyway in case anyone wants to see the exact rules wording.

RRG, p. 6: "An engaged squadron cannot move."

Heavy: "You do not prevent engaged squadrons from attacking ships or moving."

Edited by Bertie Wooster

"When a squadron moves, it can choose to remain in its current position and is still considered to have moved."

I like to mov'it-mov'it! ?

6 hours ago, Triangular said:

"When a squadron moves, it can choose to remain in its current position and is still considered to have moved."

I like to mov'it-mov'it! ?

True.

But it cannot move, so it cannot remain in place? ?

14 hours ago, Green Knight said:

But it cannot move, so it cannot remain in place? ?

It can remain in place, when it moves. If it cannot move, it's no move to remain in place ...

Armada is so easy to play, but so very hard to explain! ?

If you can move, then you can move without moving. However, if you can't move, you can't move at all - even if you don't wish to move. Clearly.

On 8/27/2018 at 6:25 AM, Green Knight said:

If a squadron is engaged, can it then use it's Strategic keyword?

(Assuming there is a token at distance 1 oc)

Strategic triggers "after you end your movement", but engaged means there is no movement, or?

Input appreciated.

If the squadron ends its move engaged, it can still use Strategic.

48 minutes ago, TTC said:

If the squadron ends its move engaged, it can still use Strategic.

Thanks, but that was never in doubt.

On 8/27/2018 at 6:25 PM, Green Knight said:

If a squadron is engaged, can it then use it's Strategic keyword?

(Assuming there is a token at distance 1 oc)

Strategic triggers "after you end your movement", but engaged means there is no movement, or?

Input appreciated.

Also consider that a non-engaged strategic source cannot attack during the squadron phase and use strategic as it is allowed to do just one thing so after you attack you cannot move so strategic doesn't trigger.

Just for completeness.