Proper Deployment of Squadrons

By icedbecker2007, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I have seen conflicting accounts on this. Can squadrons during the deployment face deploy within 1 or 2 of a ship?

Thanks,

Yes, they must deploy within distance 2 of a friendly ship and in the setup area (meaning they can’t deploy on the sides to the left and right of the deployment zone or setup area). A ship must be deployed before the deployment of squadrons. This is the standard deployment of squadrons and is changed by objectives such as Fighter Ambush or Hyperspace Assault.

Edit: Changed range 2 to distance 2

Edited by Admiral Calkins
1 hour ago, icedbecker2007 said:

I have seen conflicting accounts on this. Can squadrons during the deployment face deploy within 1 or 2 of a ship?

Thanks,

Conflicting? How so?

Squadrons must deploy WITHIN distance 2 of a ship.

They can go outside the deployment zones - but must be within the setup area.

So basically they can be deployed further into the board than ships, but not into the "side" zones.

6. Deploy Ships: Starting with the first player, the players take turns deploying their forces into the setup area. A single deployment turn consists of placing one ship or two squadrons.
◊ Ships must be placed within their player’s deployment zones. When a player places a ship, he must set its speed dial to a speed available on its speed chart.
Squadrons must be placed within distance 1–2 of a friendly ship and may be placed outside of deployment zones.
◊ If a player only has one squadron remaining when he must place two, he cannot place it until he has placed all of his ships.
◊ Ships and squadrons can be placed on top of the setup area markers as long as they remain entirely within the setup area.

On 8/24/2018 at 10:03 AM, icedbecker2007 said:

I have seen conflicting accounts on this. Can squadrons during the deployment face deploy within 1 or 2 of a ship?

Thanks,

"Within distance 1-2" is any distance 2 or less, including distance 1, or like even touching the base. at an effective "distance 0"

Edited by eliteone
9 hours ago, eliteone said:

"Within distance 2" is any distance at or below 2, including distance 1, or like even touching the base. at an effective "distance 0"

Careful to use the word "at" when describing "within", since "at" has its own very specific meaning.

On 8/27/2018 at 11:14 PM, eliteone said:

"Within distance 2" is any distance at or below 2, including distance 1, or like even touching the base. at an effective "distance 0"

It is within distance 1-2, not within distance 2. It is different. Within distance 2 wouldn't include distance 1. Also as pointed, at and within are different too.

I’m not sure that is correct.

1 hour ago, LTD said:

I’m not sure that is correct.

Are you talking about this:

12 hours ago, ovinomanc3r said:

It is within distance 1-2, not within distance 2. It is different. Within distance 2 wouldn't include distance 1. Also as pointed, at and within are different too.

Because that is definitely correct. From the RRG: "If the entirety of a base or token is inside a specified band, that component is within that band."

So if you can only deploy 'within distance 2', then the entirety of your base must be inside that band, thus excluding the distance 1 band.

Are you saying that squads cannot start the game within distance 1 of a ship, but must be within distance 2? Because that is absurd.

Tractor beams work at distance 1-5. Does this mean they don’t work at less than distance 1?

I don’t think this is the case.

On rereading the above posts I have come to see that I have misinterpreted the original statement. I apologise.

On 9/1/2018 at 10:22 PM, LTD said:

Are you saying that squads cannot start the game within distance 1 of a ship, but must be within distance 2? Because that is absurd.

Tractor beams work at distance 1-5. Does this mean they don’t work at less than distance 1?

I don’t think this is the case.

Over explanations to simple questions can cause confusion -

You're correct, deploy distance for squads is, 1-2 from the base of a ship: anything from the start of the ruler, through 1, up to, and never exceeding, 2.