Coordinate into Linked action

By K13R4N, in X-Wing Rules Questions

Can a ship do its linked action of a coordinate?

I would assume yes but just want to make sure. As would this mean Lando in the escape craft can coordinate Fenn a boost, focus and stress then fenn does a blue maneuver and removes the stress and then target lock and repeat?

Yes. Once you perform the first action, it can queue up the second. In some situations, perhaps this won't resolve, like perhaps you queue up some other ability first which also gives a stress, but normally, yes.

Rules Reference, p12:

  • After a ship performs an action with an attached linked action, if the player wants to resolve the linked action, it is added to the ability queue.

  • A linked action can be performed after performing the action it is attached to even if that action was granted by a card effect or other game effect.

Interesting case is when AP-5 use coordinate on stressed ship.

Can it do linked action and get second stress, or just a single action?

Coordinating a stressed ship is a waste because a stressed ship can't perform actions (unless specific game text says they can action despite being stress). Normal restrictions apply.

On 9/16/2018 at 12:33 AM, Szczekal said:

Interesting case is when AP-5 use coordinate on stressed ship.

Can it do linked action and get second stress, or just a single action?

Just the single action from Coordinate, which is all AP5's ability permits.

19 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

Just the single action from Coordinate, which is all AP5's ability permits.

"While you coordinate, if you chose a ship with exactly 1 stress token, it can perform actions." - that's plural.

it's funny, cause i also assume you can use linked actions from coordinate, how ever, coordinate is described like this:

Pilots can coordinate to assist their allies. When a ship performs the (coordinate) action, it coordinates. A coordinating ship is a ship that is attempting to coordinate by performing the following steps:
1. Measure range from the coordinating ship to any friendly ships.
2. Choose another friendly ship at range 1–2.
3. The chosen ship performs one action.

it says in other places that you can use linked actions even if your first action is granted by another upgrade or game effect. still, coordinate states that the chosen ship performs one action. this is a pretty big deal for the game imho, since action economy is pretty vital for list building.

would be nice to get this cleared up.

15 minutes ago, meffo said:

"While you coordinate, if you chose a ship with exactly 1 stress token, it can perform actions." - that's plural.

It can perform actions while you coordinate it. Coordinate only gives one.

3 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

It can perform actions while you coordinate it. Coordinate only gives one.

you're right!

i'm also pretty sure linking actions from a coordinated action is fine and it seems intentional. thank you for enlightening me.

6 minutes ago, meffo said:

you're right!

i'm also pretty sure linking actions from a coordinated action is fine and it seems intentional. thank you for enlightening me.

It is. Just not in this case.

22 minutes ago, meffo said:

it's funny, cause i also assume you can use linked actions from coordinate, how ever, coordinate is described like this:

Pilots can coordinate to assist their allies. When a ship performs the (coordinate) action, it coordinates. A coordinating ship is a ship that is attempting to coordinate by performing the following steps:
1. Measure range from the coordinating ship to any friendly ships.
2. Choose another friendly ship at range 1–2.
3. The chosen ship performs one action.

it says in other places that you can use linked actions even if your first action is granted by another upgrade or game effect. still, coordinate states that the chosen ship performs one action. this is a pretty big deal for the game imho, since action economy is pretty vital for list building.

would be nice to get this cleared up.

The coordinate itself only grants a single action but nothing I'm there actually prohibits additional actions from other sources. So if you have some way to trigger one, like a link for instance, you can do so after the coordinated action has resolved.

13 minutes ago, sharrrp said:

The coordinate itself only grants a single action but nothing I'm there actually prohibits additional actions from other sources. So if you have some way to trigger one, like a link for instance, you can do so after the coordinated action has resolved.

The timing of AP5's ability does. It only applies while you coordinate. The putative linked action would happen afterwards.

53 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

The timing of AP5's ability does. It only applies while you coordinate. The putative linked action would happen afterwards.

I agree but that's only relavent if the ship is stressed. The part I was responding to seemed to be about coordinate in general not the specific case of AP5.

15 minutes ago, sharrrp said:

I agree but that's only relavent if the ship is stressed. The part I was responding to seemed to be about coordinate in general not the specific case of AP5.

Which is not entirely helpful in a thread about AP5's ability. It's correct, but potentially misleading.

27 minutes ago, thespaceinvader said:

Which is not entirely helpful in a thread about AP5's ability. It's correct, but potentially misleading.

This is not a thread about AP5's ability.... It's about coordinating into linked actions.

58 minutes ago, Icelom said:

This is not a thread about AP5's ability.... It's about coordinating into linked actions.

Oh goddammit I'm super off form today.

Apologies.

On 8/16/2018 at 11:56 AM, theBitterFig said:

Yes. Once you perform the first action, it can queue up the second. In some situations, perhaps this won't resolve, like perhaps you queue up some other ability first which also gives a stress, but normally, yes.

Rules Reference, p12:

  • After a ship performs an action with an attached linked action, if the player wants to resolve the linked action, it is added to the ability queue.

  • A linked action can be performed after performing the action it is attached to even if that action was granted by a card effect or other game effect.

One doubth, why Advanced Sensors can't do a linked action? If the text says ONE ACTION too?

Edited by Mostarda2
1 minute ago, Mostarda2 said:

One doubth, why Advanced Sensors can't do a linked action? If the text says ONE ACTION too?

Advanced Sensors then specifically says you cannot do more actions during your activation...

Advanced Sensors specifically forbids further actions after the one granted.

Humm, ok and Supernatural Reflexes you can? Just to clarify.

38 minutes ago, Mostarda2 said:

Humm, ok and Supernatural Reflexes you can? Just to clarify.

Advanced_sensors.png
Supernatural_Reflexes.png

as you can see, supernatural reflexes has no restrictions on how many actions you can perform printed on it.

4 hours ago, meffo said:

Advanced_sensors.png
Supernatural_Reflexes.png

as you can see, supernatural reflexes has no restrictions on how many actions you can perform printed on it.

Except it kind of does tho, doesnt it? It's limiting you to 1 spending of Force for its opportunity.

1 minute ago, Lyianx said:

Except it kind of does tho, doesnt it? It's limiting you to 1 spending of Force for its opportunity.

no, not at all. but yes, for its opportunity , as in once per opportunity. you're taking the statement out of context, though. you can still perform linked actions, autothrusters, actions from vaders ability and so on. and that's from the opportunity after you've performed the supernatural reflexes action. that's in contrast to advanced sensors, since advanced sensors does not let you perform any additional actions during your activation, disallowing linked actions and so on.

it is also worth noting that the timings are slightly different, since advanced sensors is after you reveal your dial, as in while you activate, while supernatural reflexes is before you activate.

1 hour ago, meffo said:

no, not at all. but yes, for its opportunity , as in once per opportunity. you're taking the statement out of context, though. you can still perform linked actions, autothrusters, actions from vaders ability and so on. and that's from the opportunity after you've performed the supernatural reflexes action. that's in contrast to advanced sensors, since advanced sensors does not let you perform any additional actions during your activation, disallowing linked actions and so on.

it is also worth noting that the timings are slightly different, since advanced sensors is after you reveal your dial, as in while you activate, while supernatural reflexes is before you activate.

OH yeah, thats all fine. But your statement seemed to refer to SR's actions specifically because you said "printed on it", which i took to mean you saying you can spend a force, perform a barrel roll, then spend another force and perform a boost (both from SR), which i was saying i dont believe is allowed.