Activating items

By KelYco, in Rules Questions

Hello to all,

I' m starting to read Genesys core book and it says on p86:

" Active qualities require ? ? to activate unless otherwise stated in their description. Active item qualities on weapons can only trigger on a successful attack,unless specified otherwise. "

Does it mean that i need sometimes to spend 2 advantages in the same round to active an item or i may spend one advantage in the first round and an other advantage in the second round ?

Thank your for your help and sorry if my question seems awkward.

Capture d’écran 2018-08-09 à 14.12.02.png

two advantages from the combat roll. All unspent results are lost after that roll has been resolved.

Edited by kaosoe

When you say "activate an item," what do you mean? Because what you're pointing out here are the qualities, usually weapon qualities, that are activated.

If you're just trying to flip a switch or use some item in its most fundamental sense, that tends to be a Maneuver, but can vary by the item in question.

4 hours ago, kaosoe said:

two advantages from the combat roll. All unspent results are lost after that roll has been resolved.

This.

Thank you to all.

You are right Kommissar, i was more talking about weapons qualities.

So, when i do my combat roll, i must have 2 advantages in one time to trigger my weapon's quality. ?

41 minutes ago, KelYco said:

Thank you to all.

You are right Kommissar, i was more talking about weapons qualities.

So, when i do my combat roll, i must have 2 advantages in one time to trigger my weapon's quality. ?

Also remember that a single Triumph can be spent to activate any effect once as if you had spent the required number of Advantage. So if you succeed with a Triumph you can always use it to trigger that weapon effect.

?

Thank you