Thror's key and Comfortable lights

By Yepesnopes, in Rules questions & answers

Hi all,

Sorry if this has been addressed, but after running a search I did not find it, and the faq's have bloated to an impossible level.

What happens with Comfortable light if Thror's key gets attached to it? Does it clear automatically? or on the contrary you cannot clear it anymore?

Cheers,

You would not be able to clear it! At least, not without a card effect like Distant Stars or something.

If the quest points were "X," it would be cleared immediately, since X would default to 0. Since the quest points are written as "-" ("null?"), placing progress tokens on the card will have no effect, and Thror's Key will blank out the text that allows you to clear it. Luckily, Thror's Key is an optional response, so you would have to intentionally choose to do this.

Thanks!

Is this an official ruling? or more based on your experience and common sense?

cheers

As for the value X (Which actually doesn't appear on this card), that's from the FAQ:

(1.40) The letter X
Unless specified by a card effect, or granted player
choice, the letter "X" is equal to 0.

As for the hyphen, "null" value, that appears on some quest cards, so I'm comparing it to those. Compare to the quest card from Assault on Osgiliath, for example. It uses the same "null" value, and you can still place progress on it. As there is no number on it, however, no amount of progress will clear it. Instead, the clear condition is defined by the card text: http://hallofbeorn.com/LotR/Details/Retake-the-City-AoO