Some range and upgrades questions

By Susanooo, in Runewars Rules Questions

We had this on oir lat tournent and i want to clarify: Maegan is in close combat and uses her Arcane Mastery. Can she target the unit she's in melee with? Card says that it may target unit at range ONE to runes (3 diffrent effects, one for each type of rune and max range based on those runes). Really question comes down to: Are engaged units in range 0 or 1 from each other.

Next one

Storm sorceress says roll one blue die. fo each surge choose a unit that recieves damage. Can i spend 2 surges to trigger same effect TWICE on single unit. Also does it work when my own unit is in melee with opponent unit and can i use it against that unit (again are they at range 1 or 0).

And next

If i have close quaters targeting can i fire at another unit OTHER that im engaged with? (i think it only allows to use my ranged attack in my own melee but im not sure)

And final question:

Support carrion lacer for skill applies blight token. Can i use it in melee to target ANOTHER unit OTHER that the one im engaged with (as support lancer cannot blight engaged units).

Edited by Warlordus

1) Engaged units are at range 1. I don't have a reference for that, other than "Range 0" is never mentioned in the rules. And Ravos eats the unit he's engaged with at the end of the round all the time.

2) I don't see why you couldn't select the same enemy twice. The text doesn't specify "different" enemy units or anything like that. I could be mistaken; I don't play elves much.

3) The Close Quarters Targeting ruling gets tricky because the first edition cards are wrong: the errata reads, "You can perform this [ranged attack] while engaged." That means if the unit that is engaged with you is out of your front firing arc, they are not eligible targets, but it also means that anybody in your arc, engaged or not, is an eligible target of your ranged attack. (The original version specifies that "you can perform [ranged attacks] against enemies engaged with you", which had the unintended consequence of allowing ranged units to attack out of their side or back)

4) If enemy trays are engaged with the front side of Carrion Lancers, they block line of sight, so you can't blight. From the FAQ:
"Q: Can a unit that is engaged with its front edge entirely in contact with an enemy unit trace line of sight to another unit through the narrow, unobstructed areas at the corners of the engaged unit’s firing arc?
A: No."