This is how I have interpreted it from the core rulebook and from a youtube video, however every discussion I have read online never states this so I thought I would ask here.
When a PC wishes to use the force, they MUST roll a light side point. If they only roll 1 dark side point, then this cannot be used at all unless a light side point is also rolled.
1st Example:
A PC with a force rating of 1 wishes to use a force power requiring only 1 force point. They roll 1 die and land on 1 dark side point, so then cannot use the force at all.
2nd Example:
A PC with a force rating of 1 wishes to use a force power requiring 2 force points. They roll 1 die and land on 1 light side point and 1 dark side point. The 1 light side point has now activated the force so they can either use a power which requires only 1 light side point, not use the force at all or use the dark side point. Using the dark side will require then to flip a destiny point from light to dark, suffer 1 strain and 1 conflict.
Have I got this right? The rulebook and a video seem to say this but all online discussions say that you can use a dark side pip without needing to have rolled a light side point as well to activate the force (it would be the opposite for dark siders).