heres a few ive been wondering about.

By darthmax1, in Talisman Rules Questions

is the sentinel fair game for the dark cultist's dark reward? what about brigand in woods, spirit in crags. the list goes on. the gaurd in the dungeon. what about the LOD? can you use the staff of mastery on him? how about the scroll of exile?

when playing the gladiator, would you count mules and carts and such as followers for your training special ability?

im the gladiator and i have the genie. ( he has the healing spell ) i lose a battle and my opponent forces me to lose the genie. can the genie cast healing on me? before going to discard?

thanks

darthmax said:

is the sentinel fair game for the dark cultist's dark reward? what about brigand in woods, spirit in crags. the list goes on. the gaurd in the dungeon. what about the LOD? can you use the staff of mastery on him? how about the scroll of exile?

No, Dark Cultist dark gift ability does work only when she beats Enemies (or Characters), a.k.a. cards with the "Enemy" keyword. To receive the same gift for the above mentioned killings, Dark Cultist should have the "creature" keyword written on the card, but she hasn't.

Your doubts about the Lord of Darkness can be solved by the same clarification as above: an "Enemy" is a card with the Enemy keyword, while board encounters are generally "creatures". With Staff of Mastery you can enslave only Enemies. With Scroll of Exile, you can banish only Enemies.

If you understand now the difference between "Enemy "and "creature" you won't have any doubts like these in the future.

darthmax said:

when playing the gladiator, would you count mules and carts and such as followers for your training special ability?/QUOTE]

Yes. Even the Poltergeist, the Jester and the Hag can be trained by Gladiator. They only have to be "Followers".

darthmax said:

im the gladiator and i have the genie. ( he has the healing spell ) i lose a battle and my opponent forces me to lose the genie. can the genie cast healing on me? before going to discard?

Personally I would say no but official answer might be a breaking yes. I remember some recent thread when the answer looked like you may cast Spells before Nullify Spell takes effect. If this is possible, it's also possible to cast Healing like you say, before losing the Genie. Let's wait for an official clarification.

The whole sequence of what can you do after losing combat but before/after opponent chooses reward needs to be clarified. Can you kick in Alchemist? Can you ditch instead of letting your opponent have it? Personally, I'm in favor of a "locked combat sequence", meaning once you start combat (don't Evade in step 1), you're locked in until the end of step 5 (Claim Reward), can't ditch/alchemy/anything with regard to your Objects/Followers.

Dam said:

The whole sequence of what can you do after losing combat but before/after opponent chooses reward needs to be clarified. Can you kick in Alchemist? Can you ditch instead of letting your opponent have it? Personally, I'm in favor of a "locked combat sequence", meaning once you start combat (don't Evade in step 1), you're locked in until the end of step 5 (Claim Reward), can't ditch/alchemy/anything with regard to your Objects/Followers.

The_Warlock said:

darthmax said:

is the sentinel fair game for the dark cultist's dark reward? what about brigand in woods, spirit in crags. the list goes on. the gaurd in the dungeon. what about the LOD? can you use the staff of mastery on him? how about the scroll of exile?

No, Dark Cultist dark gift ability does work only when she beats Enemies (or Characters), a.k.a. cards with the "Enemy" keyword. To receive the same gift for the above mentioned killings, Dark Cultist should have the "creature" keyword written on the card, but she hasn't.

Your doubts about the Lord of Darkness can be solved by the same clarification as above: an "Enemy" is a card with the Enemy keyword, while board encounters are generally "creatures". With Staff of Mastery you can enslave only Enemies. With Scroll of Exile, you can banish only Enemies.

If you understand now the difference between "Enemy "and "creature" you won't have any doubts like these in the future.

darthmax said:

when playing the gladiator, would you count mules and carts and such as followers for your training special ability?/QUOTE]

Yes. Even the Poltergeist, the Jester and the Hag can be trained by Gladiator. They only have to be "Followers".

darthmax said:

im the gladiator and i have the genie. ( he has the healing spell ) i lose a battle and my opponent forces me to lose the genie. can the genie cast healing on me? before going to discard?

Personally I would say no but official answer might be a breaking yes. I remember some recent thread when the answer looked like you may cast Spells before Nullify Spell takes effect. If this is possible, it's also possible to cast Healing like you say, before losing the Genie. Let's wait for an official clarification.

i see.....i was trying to play the cultist like the swashbuckler. his ability to take an extra turn works on space and card generated creatures, but his text doesnt specify " enemies ". no wonder the cultist has been so darn powerful. i was using her w/ an axe to jump off the middle woods to the ruins, which had a coffin and cave on it. many many rewards