Concentrate Fire Command (token and dial spending)

By Wawa666, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Hello Admirals!

More and more at the tournaments I run appears the CF command issue. Some players sinply don't understand that they are need to spend both dial and token together ( before rolling CF dial die); that spending dial and then rolling additional die and then decide to spend CF token to reroll one die is simply not allowed! I think that rolling a die between spending a dial and spending a token is another "action" so there are 2 instants of CF command in a single attack in that case...
Correct me if I am wrong guys- and I mean rules interpretations not opinions (but of course they are also allowed ;) )

Rreferences:

Rules References:
• P Concentrate Fire: Resolve during the “Resolve Attack
Effects” step of an attack.
◊◊ Dial: Add one attack die to the attack pool. That die
must be of a color that is already in the attack pool.
◊◊ Token: Reroll one attack die in the attack pool.
• A ship cannot resolve the same command more than
once per round.
FAQ:
Commands:
Q: If a ship wants to spend a command dial and token of the
same type, does it have to spend them simultaneously?
A: Yes. It must already have both the dial and token, and must
spend them together.

That's correct, yes. You must spend them both together at the same time, you can't spend them both separately in the same activation.

I'm going to say that no they are not different actions. they take place at different steps.... So yes you can collect the dice pool & roll, then use any add effects (eg CF dial, external racks) you can then use any re-roll effects (CF token, vader), next step is to remove die (eg dual turbolaser turrets).

However you cant use the dial on one attack then use the token on the 2nd... they must be used on the same attack.

edit - so yes you have to say if you are spending the dial & the token before you pick up the die... you cant decide to suddenly use the token after you have rolled.... you can however decide not to use the re-roll option after you have rolled the dice but then you still have spent the token.

Edited by slasher956
9 minutes ago, slasher956 said:

I'm going to say that no they are not different actions. they take place at different steps.... So yes you can collect the dice pool & roll, then use any add effects (eg CF dial, external racks) you can then use any re-roll effects (CF token, vader), next step is to remove die (eg dual turbolaser turrets).

The dial and token have to be used together, as one command. That means you resolve one (roll an additional dice) and then, without doing anything else, immediately resolve the other (re-roll one dice).

There's no particular timing difference between add and re-roll effects, they all share the same window.

DTT is similar to CF - the add and the remove are both part of the same card, and so must occur back-to-back. You can't add or re-reroll from other effects inbetween rolling DTT's extra dice and then removing one.