Tactic Card Reinforcement

By whipko, in Runewars

As for this Tactic card Reinforcement. It only indicate the shape type of the unit.

I can recruit neutral unit using this card. Mean i can recruit a dragon or a giant.

i always assumed only your own units, but I dont know. What is the exact text of the card?

The card says "Recruit 1 of the following at 1 of your strongholds".

However, nowhere in the rules does it refer to being able to recruit Neutral units; in the Rally Support order, which is the only way to gain "new" neutrals, is says PLACE them, not recruit them.

Note that this has a precedent for not being the same as Recruiting - Corey has ruled that the Necromancer's Raise Dead ability is not considered "recruiting". Thus, I would extend that the Neutrals - it's not considered recruiting with Rally Support, and thus there are no rules that indicate that you can "recruit" anything but your own units.

I would say that Reinforcements thus only allows you to recruit units you would normally be allowed to recruit - IE, your own units.

What if I want to recruit a ham sandwich? What then?

I'm submitting a rules question.

yeah, we need a corey on this, though I would bet for only your units

mateooo said:

yeah, we need a corey on this, though I would bet for only your units

I agree, it wouldn't hurt.

I am 100% sure that the answer will be "no neutrals". Using the same logic to recruit a Neutral, what would stop you from recruiting another player's units with this card?

sigmazero13 said:

mateooo said:

yeah, we need a corey on this, though I would bet for only your units

I agree, it wouldn't hurt.

I am 100% sure that the answer will be "no neutrals". Using the same logic to recruit a Neutral, what would stop you from recruiting another player's units with this card?

Where's the 'thumbs up' button? Oh wait. Wrong site. Anyway, I agree with sig.

mateooo said:

yeah, we need a corey on this, though I would bet for only your units

Hmm looks like somebody has a broken sarcasm detector.

every once in a while there is a rule dispute that EVERYONE is SO SURE goes one way, and then they are all wrong... A lot of people thought the hero's guild prevented coercion....

i prefer confirmation from the source for unclear rules.

mateooo said:

every once in a while there is a rule dispute that EVERYONE is SO SURE goes one way, and then they are all wrong... A lot of people thought the hero's guild prevented coercion....

Yes, but not everyone. In fact, I'm not sure I'd beleive "a lot of people", relatively; I only saw a few people thinking that it would prevent that card, once they looked at the rules. I was very certain, for instance, right from the start that Coercion didn't get blocked by it; desertion has a specific meaning in the rules (a hero leaving the game and taking his relics with him) and that definition did not apply to Coercion! The ruling was not a surprise to many, I would think.

mateooo said:

i prefer confirmation from the source for unclear rules.

As do I, but in this case, the ruling will be more to close a loophole for the rules lawyers out there than to clarify an unclear rule - Based on the rules for recruiting, I think it's reasonably obvious that you can't "recruit" neutral units any more than you can "recruit" enemy units. You can really only "recruit" units that are part of your race!

Corey's answer will just confirm this. And yes, I'll add it to my document when he does, just so the rules lawyers out there won't try to pull that in a real game.

When you rally a city you can get units as well without recruiting.

Would the Ham sandwich be on rye? I like Rye!

Gallows said:

When you rally a city you can get units as well without recruiting.

I'm not sure which post you are responding to, but you are exactly right - and the key with that is that Rally Support is specifically NOT "recruiting".