Can I win a conflict as attacker with the Favor only ?

By GWItheUltimate, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

We've had a situation yesterday where the only defending character was bowed and my attacking character was killed.

But I had the Imperial Favor. Do I win 1 vs 0 even if I have no character left in the conflict ?

Thanks,

GWI

The Imperial Favor only adds to your side's skill if you have a character. So if your only character was killed, then no it does not add and help you win. If your only character is bowed, it would help though.

From the Rules Reference, emphasis mine.

The +1 skill modifier granted by the Imperial Favor applies
to any conflict of the specified type in which its bearer
controls at least one participating character.
This modifier
applies to the player’s total skill that is counted for the
conflict, but does not modify the skill value of any of the
characters participating in the conflict.

No, imperial favor requires a participating character. That character can be bowed though.

From the Rules Reference on Imperial Favor:

"The +1 skill modifier granted by the Imperial Favor applies to any conflict of the specified type in which its bearer controls at least one participating character. This modifier applies to the player’s total skill that is counted for the conflict, but does not modify the skill value of any of the characters participating in the conflict"

Thanks !