Duty clarification

By Andre Bigler, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

Quote

Duty
Scorpion Event - 0 Fate
Philosophy.
Limit 1 per deck.
Interrupt: When the effect of a card ability, ring effect or framework step would cause you to lose your last honor - cancel that effect, then gain 1 honor.
"I will be your villain, Hantei." - Bayushi

So... how does it interacts with Draw Phase bidding? Say I'm at 1 honor, then I bid 5 and my opponent 3. We both reveal, I need to give him/her 2 honor, I will lose the game... "DUTY". I give the honor, then stay at 1 honor? I do not give any honor (due the cancel aspect) and then stay at 2 honor? The card buying, it will be cancelled as well?

A dishonored character will leave play due not having any fate, and I'm at 1 honor... "DUTY". The character stays in play and I get to stay at 2 honor?

I confess this card got me wth its wording.

I think you just cancel the loss of honor. So, it wouldn't affect the number of cards drawn during a bid or prevent a dishonored character from leaving play.

Not sure how it interacts with an honor exchange of 4 though, in an example of bidding 5 vs 1. Would it cancel the whole swap, or just negate the last point of it? (I guess this question is: do you lose honor one by one with honor bids, or all at once?)

The exchange honor is a separate step. That step is negated. You would instead gain 1 honor and proceed to draw cards step.

Man, that gives it a lot more playable heft. Being able to bid 5 for free at the end of a low-honor game is a considerable boon. Pairs very well with the current scorpion SH.

31 minutes ago, AradonTemplar said:

Man, that gives it a lot more playable heft. Being able to bid 5 for free at the end of a low-honor game is a considerable boon. Pairs very well with the current scorpion SH.

Just need to make sure you have the cancel for if your opponent tries to cancel your Duty.

On ‎5‎/‎30‎/‎2018 at 2:48 PM, Schmoozies said:

Just need to make sure you have the cancel for if your opponent tries to cancel your Duty.

Holding on to a cancel card that long is bad in my opinion. It makes for two cards being held onto for a very specific scenario rather than being tactical with your cancel effects. I will probably not play Duty as I think it is not as good as some people are worrying that it is.

There's also the discard from hand effects that could take out Duty (whether randomly, like with the Earth ring, or intentionally like with Policy Debate) and then you just don't have access to that card, unless you get some sort of graveyard effect to bring it back into play or manage to deck yourself without losing from dishonor.

What honor loss can't Duty prevent?

3 minutes ago, twinstarbmc said:

What honor loss can't Duty prevent?

None. It works on Shuffling, Ring of Air, Unopposed, Honor Bids, characters leaving play, and card effects.

7 minutes ago, Mirith said:

None. It works on Shuffling, Ring of Air, Unopposed, Honor Bids, characters leaving play, and card effects.

My bad, I just saw that it can't cancel costs, like Assassination. So that's... something.

5 minutes ago, twinstarbmc said:

My bad, I just saw that it can't cancel costs, like Assassination. So that's... something.

Well, I thought that came under the same idea of trying to reprieve your own Way of the Crab, which issn't allowed, though it does say effects and not costs on Duty.