Ordnance Pods and Gunnery Team

By R4Pi3R, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Just set me straight if I'm wrong but my usual opponent and I came across that, thoying around building fleets.

Fitting Ordnance Pods and Gunnery Team on the same ship, can you attack a ship once and squadrons within the same arc twice? Going with "prohibit overrides permit" we'd say no, since Ordnance Pods only allows an attack from the same hullzone, whereas Gunnery Team explicitely forbids attacking the same target twice during the activation.

Are we correct?

Because in that case the third attack would only be useful from another hullzone. And even then you could only attack squads you haven't already attacked.

I would say the "cannot" on Gunnery Teams wouldn't allow it.

Card texts from wiki:

Gunnery Porgs:

You can attack from the same hull zonemore than once per activation. That hull zone cannot target the same ship or squadron more than once during that activation

Ordnance Porgs:

Medium or large ship only.

At the end of your Attack Step, you may exhaust this card and choose 1 of your hull zones. Then perform an attack from that hull zone with an anti-squadron armament of 1 black die, even if you have already attacked from that zone this zone this round.

I think there is a golden Rule that says cannot from gunnery trumps the exception from ordnance pods?

That was our thinking too.

We concluded you could only attack a squad twice by not using Gunnery Team and thus not getting prohibited from attacking the same target twice. That on the other hand means, doublearcing flak enables you to hit poorly positioned squads thrice in 1 turn, once per arc and once by using Ordnance Pods.

23 hours ago, R4Pi3R said:

That was our thinking too.

We concluded you could only attack a squad twice by not using Gunnery Team and thus not getting prohibited from attacking the same target twice. That on the other hand means, doublearcing flak enables you to hit poorly positioned squads thrice in 1 turn, once per arc and once by using Ordnance Pods.

When you say "not using Gunnery Team" do you mean Gunnery Team is equipped but you don't use it, or it is not equipped?

Because if Gunnery Team and Ordnance Pods are both equipped to a ship, you cannot attack a squadron thrice in the way you described. Even if you're not using Gunnery Team (to attack the same target twice out of the same hull zone), its restriction still applies, because "cannot" is absolute.

At least that's my understanding of the golden rules. "If a card effect uses the word 'cannot,' that effect is
absolute." RRG, page 1

Of course, if Gunnery Team is NOT equipped, then of course you may feel free to use Ordnance Pods in the way you described. :D

Edited by Bertie Wooster
48 minutes ago, Bertie Wooster said:

When you say "not using Gunnery Team" do you mean Gunnery Team is equipped but you don't use it, or it is not equipped?

Because if Gunnery Team and Ordnance Pods are both equipped to a ship, you cannot attack a squadron thrice in the way you described. Even if you're not using Gunnery Team (to attack the same target twice out of the same hull zone), its restriction still applies, because "cannot" is absolute.

At least that's my understanding of the golden rules. "If a card effect uses the word 'cannot,' that effect is
absolute." RRG, page 1

Of course, if Gunnery Team is NOT equipped, then of course you may feel free to use Ordnance Pods in the way you described. :D

It's true that the "cannot" is absolute, but in this case the point is (in my understanding) that if you don't use gunnery team to make 2 attacks from the same hull zone, then that restriction doesn't apply. This is because Gunnery Team says "That hull zone cannot target...", referring to the hull zone from which you used Gunnery Team's effect to attack twice that turn. So even if you have Gunnery Team equipped, you can attack a squadron from lets say your front hull zone, then attack that same squadron with your right hull zone and after that, since it's the end of your attack step and you didn't use Gunnery Team, you can use Ordnance Pods to attack that squadron again from the front hull zone.

Wasnt GT ruled that its text is not optional?

IE if you have GT and Advanced Gunnery, the GT prevents the AG working.

39 minutes ago, TheEasternKing said:

Wasnt GT ruled that its text is not optional?

IE if you have GT and Advanced Gunnery, the GT prevents the AG working.

That FAQ doesn't say that GT is not optional. Here's the text for refference:

"If either player’s objective ship is equipped with Gunnery Team and attacks from the same hull zone during its activation, that ship cannot target the same ship or squadron more than once during its activation."

It just clarifies that if the ship attacks from the same hull zone, the Advanced Gunnery effect doesn't override the "cannot" from GT because of the golden rule. But in the case of not attacking twice from the same hull zone you have no restriction as you are not aplying the effect from GT.

At least that is my understanding of this rules.

32 minutes ago, Lemmiwinks86 said:

That FAQ doesn't say that GT is not optional. Here's the text for refference:

"If either player’s objective ship is equipped with Gunnery Team and attacks from the same hull zone during its activation, that ship cannot target the same ship or squadron more than once during its activation."

It just clarifies that if the ship attacks from the same hull zone, the Advanced Gunnery effect doesn't override the "cannot" from GT because of the golden rule. But in the case of not attacking twice from the same hull zone you have no restriction as you are not aplying the effect from GT.

At least that is my understanding of this rules.

Yes but the FAQ neither say attacking twice. Just if you attack from the same hull zone. With OP, are you attacking from the same hull zone? Yes. So you cannot attack the same target twice.

Not saying it is crystal clear. The FAQ just clarify one interaction and it is not directly applicable in this case but it is a precedence and I think RAW point to that. Of course about being optional, it is a weird case. FAQ entry seem to say that attacking twice from the same hull zone is optional (logical) but not its restriction so if you do, even allowed from another source, the restriction still applies.

In other words it seems you can say "I won't use GT, I will use AG" but GT's restriction is still active. So it is possible to say you are not using GT but its restriction is still on: the same hull zone cannot attack the same target twice.

It would be a good question for email anyways.

12 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

In other words it seems you can say "I won't use GT, I will use AG" but GT's restriction is still active. So it is possible to say you are not using GT but its restriction is still on: the same hull zone cannot attack the same target twice.

That is a good point, I hadn't thought of that. It's very tricky indeed, it would be good for FFG to light our way.

Edited by Lemmiwinks86

Didn't think of the AG and GT ruling in the FAQ.

So since I'm a firsttimer, where to send the mail?

Thanks a lot :)