If this is settled, I apologize, but I searched for an answer and didn't see it.
Davith's Cloak and Dagger ability:
"While attacking with a melee weapon, you gain: Surge: Hide"
Hidden condition card text:
"After you resolve an attack, you must discard this condition."
One reading of this suggests that if Davith rolls a surge in his melee attack, he can spend it on the Hide condition, but as soon as that same attack resolves, he must discard the condition. Here's the reasoning:
According to RRG p6:
Any ability that is resolved “while attacking” or “while defending” can be used at any point during the attack.
However, the act of
spending
surges only occurs in Step 5 (of 7). So in Step 5, he spends the surge to Hide. Presumably, only after steps 6 and 7 happen is the attack considered "resolved". At that point he's forced to discard the Hidden card per its text.
The problem with this interpretation is that it seems that Davith's Cloak and Dagger ability would be worthless since he could only get the condition while attacking, but then must immediately discard it. Has there been an official rule on this?