Critical Effect Resolution; Overload Pulse

By Crawfskeezen, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Hey all, I've been away from Armada for a bit and I'm getting back in, it's been too long but I'm a bit rusty and re-learning some of the rules. I'm just looking for some clarification regarding the timing of resolving certain critical effects.

I'm clear on how it works regarding damage and damage cards but the one I'm stuck on is surrounding Overload Pulse. If I resolve the critical effect to exhaust the defenders defence tokens, do I do that before they have a chance to use them, and thus requiring them to discard a token if they wanted to use it? Or does the critical effect resolve after the defender can choose to use their tokens?

Cheers.

1 hour ago, Crawfskeezen said:

Hey all, I've been away from Armada for a bit and I'm getting back in, it's been too long but I'm a bit rusty and re-learning some of the rules. I'm just looking for some clarification regarding the timing of resolving certain critical effects.

I'm clear on how it works regarding damage and damage cards but the one I'm stuck on is surrounding Overload Pulse. If I resolve the critical effect to exhaust the defenders defence tokens, do I do that before they have a chance to use them, and thus requiring them to discard a token if they wanted to use it? Or does the critical effect resolve after the defender can choose to use their tokens?

Cheers.

After

1. Roll Attack

2. modify Dice

3. Spend Defense

4. Critical effect

5. Damage total/deal

Edited by Drasnighta

Would the presence or lack of shields on the affected hull zone prevent the blue crit from triggering?

Presence or absence of shields has no bearing on whether or not a critical effect happens. In the case of the standard crit effect (first damage card is drawn face-up) having shields might protect you from drawing any damage cards, but the critical effect still triggers. Likewise, overload pulse will trigger with or without shields

If you change OP to a spend effect then it becomes truly OP at any cost.