In a situation where you are attacking from an arc with only a single die facing the table edge selected for Solar Corona, are you still able to use add effects (con fire, slaved turrets, etc...)? Or more specifically, do you still count as 'gathering' the dice throughout the entirety of the "Roll Attack Dice" step or is that only prior to actually rolling the dice?
Or a third option, does Solar Corona resolve in the "Resolve Attack Effects" step but must go before resolving any other attack effects?
Example. A hammerhead scout attacks out of its side arc with a single blue die, facing the corona. The single die is gathered, an accuracy results and the die is removed. If the entire step counts as gathering (which the FAQ seems to imply?) then the attack would be canceled. If gathering only applies prior to rolling the dice, then it would seem the window for checking to cancel the attack has already passed and you can proceed to step 3 (resolve attack effects) with a dice pool of zero dice. Ditto for Solar Corona resolving first in the resolve attack effects step.
Relevant Rules
-
Gather attack dice to form the attack pool and roll those dice. If the attacker cannot gather any dice (...) the attack is canceled."
- rules reference
-
Q: If a ship's attack would not include any dice, but the ship can add dice through a card effect, can it perform the attack?
A: No. If a ship does not gather any dice during the "Roll Attack Dice" step of an attack, the attack is canceled.
- FAQ
-
While a ship is attacking, before resolving any attack effects, if any portion of the corona is inside the attacking hull zone's defending arc, the attacker must discard 1 die with a accuracy icon from the attack pool, if able.
- Solar Corona