there are probably numerous situations for this. the two we encountered were combining the cave troll and giant worm, and then the pack of wolves w/ the goblin. does the whole creature regenerate or just the troll? how many dice does the pack/goblin roll? my gut tells methat the troll can regenerate after the battle but you will still take the worm trophy, and thatpack/goblin rolls 2 dice.
combining creatures and their special abilities
darthmax said:
there are probably numerous situations for this. the two we encountered were combining the cave troll and giant worm, and then the pack of wolves w/ the goblin. does the whole creature regenerate or just the troll? how many dice does the pack/goblin roll? my gut tells methat the troll can regenerate after the battle but you will still take the worm trophy, and thatpack/goblin rolls 2 dice.
When an Enemy regenerates, the combat counts as a stand-off, so you didn't defeat the Enemies in combat, no trophies for you.
Wolf Pack + Goblin Trap-Smith effect different things IIRC. Wolf Pack rolls 2, picks 1 for it's roll, while the Goblin forces the character to roll 2, pick the lower die for his/her roll. So there is no issue I can see with this pairing, they affect different rolls (Enemy's vs character's). Or were you talking about some other Goblin?
it was just a plain old one-str goblin
They would be Str 3, roll 2 dice, pick the highest.
Dam said:
darthmax said:
there are probably numerous situations for this. the two we encountered were combining the cave troll and giant worm, and then the pack of wolves w/ the goblin. does the whole creature regenerate or just the troll? how many dice does the pack/goblin roll? my gut tells methat the troll can regenerate after the battle but you will still take the worm trophy, and thatpack/goblin rolls 2 dice.
When an Enemy regenerates, the combat counts as a stand-off, so you didn't defeat the Enemies in combat, no trophies for you.
Wolf Pack + Goblin Trap-Smith effect different things IIRC. Wolf Pack rolls 2, picks 1 for it's roll, while the Goblin forces the character to roll 2, pick the lower die for his/her roll. So there is no issue I can see with this pairing, they affect different rolls (Enemy's vs character's). Or were you talking about some other Goblin?
There was somewhere a discussion that if you fight a Cave Troll +normal enemy, and you win, and the cave troll is regenerated, then you have still defeat the other enemy
It's only a stand off for the Cave Troll then..
Gobbo trapsmith means you use two dice and pick lowest. Warrior has two dice and pick highest. In effect, does this cancel each other out, so both gobbo and warrior just roll a single dice, just like regular combat?
"Q3: Can the Warrior use his special ability when he fights
the Goblin Trapsmith?
A: No. The Warrior must roll two dice for his attack roll and
use the lowest result." (FAQ, p. 5)
Velhart said:
Dam said:
darthmax said:
there are probably numerous situations for this. the two we encountered were combining the cave troll and giant worm, and then the pack of wolves w/ the goblin. does the whole creature regenerate or just the troll? how many dice does the pack/goblin roll? my gut tells methat the troll can regenerate after the battle but you will still take the worm trophy, and thatpack/goblin rolls 2 dice.
When an Enemy regenerates, the combat counts as a stand-off, so you didn't defeat the Enemies in combat, no trophies for you.
Wolf Pack + Goblin Trap-Smith effect different things IIRC. Wolf Pack rolls 2, picks 1 for it's roll, while the Goblin forces the character to roll 2, pick the lower die for his/her roll. So there is no issue I can see with this pairing, they affect different rolls (Enemy's vs character's). Or were you talking about some other Goblin?
There was somewhere a discussion that if you fight a Cave Troll +normal enemy, and you win, and the cave troll is regenerated, then you have still defeat the other enemy
It's only a stand off for the Cave Troll then..
I also remember that thread, perhaps it was this one:
www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp
I can't find the answer from Elliot that I pretended to have received... but it makes some sense. Other Enemies are still killed, but the result of the combat is a stand-off, so no encountering Craft Enemies, Strangers, Objects, Followers, Places on the space.
The_Warlock said:
Velhart said:
There was somewhere a discussion that if you fight a Cave Troll +normal enemy, and you win, and the cave troll is regenerated, then you have still defeat the other enemy
It's only a stand off for the Cave Troll then..
I also remember that thread, perhaps it was this one:
www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp
I can't find the answer from Elliot that I pretended to have received... but it makes some sense. Other Enemies are still killed, but the result of the combat is a stand-off, so no encountering Craft Enemies, Strangers, Objects, Followers, Places on the space.
The link did not work, so i have search for it, and found it here ..
It looks like, that i heard the answer from you
And you receive it from talismansilat...?
Since then... i have use that rule in my games..
Velhart said:
It looks like, that i heard the answer from you
And you receive it from talismansilat...?
Since then... i have use that rule in my games..
When talismanamsilat appears on these boards again, we'll ask him if he ever told me something like that.
I'm here watching every day don't worry!
Ell.
talismanamsilat said:
I'm here watching every day don't worry!
Ell.
Hello Elliott!
Did you ever tell me that when you win a combat against combined Enemies and one of them manages to survive thanks to a Special Ability, the Character is still allowed to take the other Enemies as Trophies?
Hi all!
My first post at this forum.
I have a similar question. During this evenings game a player faced a Miser dragon and a goblin sniper at the same time.
Both have strength and the same "apperance number" so we guessed they should be combined when fighting (8+2=10).
But the sniper had a special ability to snipe and thus ignoring the players dice during battle.
How to solve it with the rules?
Not combining two monsters when one has a special ability?
Combine and don't let the player roll dice against 10?
Combine and ignore the special ability, thus rolling dice as usual?
Other?
Thanks in advance.
Roll for the Goblin Sniper, then battle vs Str 10 following the result of your roll. IIRC, success means you roll normally, failure means you don't roll. That's still easier than say Mimic + Bronze Dragon
(your Str + Str 8, meaning you will pretty much lose).
Thanks for reply.
So in the case of success for the sniper to suprise the player, both the sniper and the dragon (in this case) gets an upper hand in the battle, not just the sniper? That's dangerous =)