Tokens? Figures? Objects? Oh, my...

By TeethAlmighty, in Imperial Assault Campaign

Hi lovers of all things Star Wars,

I'm about to play the Hoth mission "Disaster" as Imperials and wanted to confirm something.

Mission setup says neutral tokens are evacuees, with 5 health and a white defence die if a hero is standing adjacent. They can be moved individually by a hero with an action, or en masse in the status phase.

My question is, can MHD-19 or medical cards heal them? My understanding is no, as they are not defined as figures , and thus would be treated akin to objects. However, they do represent people, have health, and movement (of a sort), so I could see a weak counter-argument. But I doubt it ?

Edited by TeethAlmighty

I think your reading of the rules is exactly correct. Anything not a figure is an object. That is how I would rule it. But I am a Sith Lord who always plays empire, so I might be a tiny bit biased :D

Lets see what Yoda says (@a1bert) :)

1 hour ago, totalnoob said:

I think your reading of the rules is exactly correct. Anything not a figure is an object. That is how I would rule it. But I am a Sith Lord who always plays empire, so I might be a tiny bit biased :D

Lets see what Yoda says (@a1bert) :)

Pretty much what I was thinking, but we have some spirited rules debates within my group sometimes, so I like to be iron clad on possible misunder-standings ahead of time ?

RRG pretty much confirms it in the section under objects:

"Most mission tokens are considered to be objects, unless the mission rules use the token to represent a figure."

Nowhere do the mission rules for Disaster mention the word figure in describing the tokens.

Edited by TeethAlmighty

If a mission rule does not explicitly define them to be figures, they are objects even when representing people.

Also, objects do not block line of sight and a figure can end movement in their space.

2 hours ago, a1bert said:

If a mission rule does not explicitly define them to be figures, they are objects even when representing people.

Also, objects do not block line of sight and a figure can end movement in their space.

And then, by extension, if a token is defined by mission rules to be a figure, it *does* block line of sight and figures **can't end movement in its space, right?

1 minute ago, GyldenDamgaard said:

And then, by extension, if a token is defined by mission rules to be a figure, it *does* block line of sight and figures **can't end movement in its space, right?

When tokens represent figures (also when using tokens for allies or villains) rules for figures apply, with some allowances if defined to be neutral figures - (Neutral Figures, RRG).

Non-companion figures cannot end movement in a space with another non-companion figure, whether neutral, rebel, or imperial.