Measuring for card effects

By Triangular, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

For an attack I measure from ship token to ship token to determine range (or distance). Is that all the same, when I would measure for card effects like "Targeting Scrambler" or "Comms Net"?

If it is an attack, the measure is hull zone to hull zone. Ie, cardboard to cardboard.

if it issue non attack measurement then you measure component to component, which includes the plastic base , by omits shield disks and the plastic that frames them.

non attack measurements would include, but not be limited to:

Home one

Tractor Beams

Targeting Scrambler (distance measure)

Comms Net

This means for example it is theoretically possible to tractor beam someone and not be in range to shoot them.

Edited by Drasnighta

Can fighters be in range to engage another squadron but not in range to get shot by them?

2 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

If it is an attack, the measure is hull zone to hull zone. Ie, cardboard to cardboard.

if it issue non attack measurement then you measure component to component, which includes the plastic base , by omits shield disks and the plastic that frames them.

non attack measurements would include, but not be limited to:

Home one

Tractor Beams

Targeting Scrambler (distance measure)

Comms Net

This means for example it is theoretically possible to tractor beam someone and not be in range to shoot them.

Thank you. I had it in my mind this way. Nevertheless I was a little bit unsure and tried to look it up. But I couldn't find the right spot in the rules document. Can you say where to look for that?

Edit : Found it! It was right before my eyes. RRG page 9 "Range and Distance": "At: If any portion of a hull zone, base , or token is inside a specified band, that component is at that band."

Edited by Triangular
31 minutes ago, Triangular said:

Thank you. I had it in my mind this way. Nevertheless I was a little bit unsure and tried to look it up. But I couldn't find the right spot in the rules document. Can you say where to look for that?

Edit : Found it! It was right before my eyes. RRG page 9 "Range and Distance": "At: If any portion of a hull zone, base , or token is inside a specified band, that component is at that band."

There’s a better quote to be found - basically ships are defined as base, fin and model , and you measure to that component, excluding the things as stated.

Attacks are actually emerge exception, being hull zone to hull zone, and thus, ignoring the plastic for cardboard only.

2 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

There’s a better quote to be found - basically ships are defined as base, fin and model , and you measure to that component, excluding the things as stated.

Attacks are actually emerge exception, being hull zone to hull zone, and thus, ignoring the plastic for cardboard only.

RRG p. 10 " Ship ": "A ship consists of a ship base, a ship model, a ship token, and a ship card." and "Some plastic ship models extend beyond the plastic
base. For this reason, the plastic ship model does not affect range measurement, firing arc, movement, overlapping, or any other game mechanic."

I think, these three make it crytal clear.

6 hours ago, Mad Cat said:

Can fighters be in range to engage another squadron but not in range to get shot by them?

No, the distinction Dras is talking about generally applies to ships (depending on the wording of the specific effect in question). In the case of squadron-vs-squadron attacks and engagement, both are defined the same way:

RRG 2 ATTACK said:

If the attacker is a squadron, the defending squadron or hull zone must be at distance 1 .

RRG 6 ENGAGEMENT said:

While a squadron is at distance 1 of one or more enemy squadrons , it is engaged with all of those enemy squadrons.

Edited by Ardaedhel