Ardus and Tempered Steel

By Church14, in Runewars Rules Questions

We had a situation in a game where a reanimate archer had Tempered Steel not exhausted and was in range for Ardus’ surge mimicing to go off.

Can Ardus use the archer’s Tempered Steel? The ruling for him taking advantage of Combat Ingenuity makes me think that yes, he can. Does anyone have something decisive on this one?

We played it where he had access to the card’s full surge ability. So when he used it, the copy of Tempered Steel on the archers was exhausted.

Edited by Church14

From the FAQ:

Quote

Ardus can also resolve a surge ability on an ally’s upgrade card that must be exhausted or discarded. That ally must then exhaust or discard that upgrade card. If an effect such as Combat Ingenuity reduces the number of [surge] icons preceding an ally’s surge ability, the number of [surge] symbols is also reduced when Ardus resolves that ability.

So yes, you played it right.

Question asked, question answered...

I guess I should have double checked the FAQ. Thanks