Raddus and Pryce FAQ question

By Bertie Wooster, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

The new FAQ threw me for a loop with this:

Raddus: "During the Ship Phase of the round in which
a ship is deployed by this card’s effect, if all
of both players’ ships are prevented from
activating by card effects (such as Admiral
Raddus or Governor Pryce), a ship deployed
by this card’s effect may activate, even if it is
the first ship to activate that round."

Governor Pryce: "During the Ship Phase of the round matching
the round token on this card, if this ship is
your only unactivated ship, all enemy ships
must activate before this ship activates, even
if a card effect would otherwise prevent them
from activating (such as Admiral Raddus)."

Example: One player has Raddus as commander, the other player has a ship with Governor Pryce. Pryce's ship has a "4" round token set at the beginning of the game. At the beginning of the ship phase in round 4, only two ships remain: The ship that has been Raddus'd in and the one with Governor Pryce. (Presumably Raddus' flagship has been destroyed by Planetary Ion Cannons or something.) The Raddus'd ship activates first, even though Raddus' card says "cannot." So Pryce's "must" beats Raddus' "cannot"? Normally I thought the golden rule is that "cannot" is absolute...is there any other current FAQ ruling that goes against it?

Swm30-admiral-raddus.png

Officer-Imperial_Governor_Pryce.png

No.

On 4/28/2018 at 1:48 PM, Bertie Wooster said:

Example: At the beginning of the ship phase in round 4, only two ships remain : The ship that has been Raddus'd in and the one with Governor Pryce. (Presumably Raddus' flagship has been destroyed by Planetary Ion Cannons or something.) The Raddus'd ship activates first , even though Raddus' card says "cannot."

Not possible - the Rebel player would need to have a ship with Raddus onboard in play at the start of that turn otherwise he/she wouldn't be able to Raddus another ship in. Obviously if the ship was Raddus'd in on turn 3 it is possible that you could have the situation you describe then the activation restrictions of Raddus would apply.

1 hour ago, Kendraam said:

Not possible - the Rebel player would need to have a ship with Raddus onboard in play at the start of that turn otherwise he/she wouldn't be able to Raddus another ship in. Obviously if the ship was Raddus'd in on turn 3 it is possible that you could have the situation you describe then the activation restrictions of Raddus would apply.

If a CR90 with Raddus on board isn't in very good health at the start of the turn and brings in an MC75 (which cannot activate first). So the Raddus player must activate the CR90 first (being first player and with no other ships surviving).

But what happens if an enemy Han Solo or an enemy planetary ion cannon kills the CR90 after the MC75 arrives but before any ships activate? The Raddus (RIP) player now only has an MC75 surviving and is first player. Would he have to skip an activation?

Another question in the above example, but lets assume the CR90 isn't killed. Could the MC75 that just arrives use a strategic adviser even though it isn't allowed to activate first or is this disallowed by the wording on the strategic adviser card?

latest?cb=20180117102016

8 minutes ago, Mad Cat said:

If a CR90 with Raddus on board isn't in very good health at the start of the turn and brings in an MC75 (which cannot activate first). So the Raddus player must activate the CR90 first (being first player and with no other ships surviving).

But what happens if an enemy Han Solo or an enemy planetary ion cannon kills the CR90 after the MC75 arrives but before any ships activate? The Raddus (RIP) player now only has an MC75 surviving and is first player. Would he have to skip an activation?

Another question in the above example, but lets assume the CR90 isn't killed. Could the MC75 that just arrives use a strategic adviser even though it isn't allowed to activate first or is this disallowed by the wording on the strategic adviser card?

Ah, I see now - pretty edge case but it looks like the Raddus ship goes first.

And your second point, I would say no, the CR-90 must activate if it can as Raddus specifically says the MC-75 cannot activate.

Thanks guys!

Yes, I picked planetary ion cannons because as Mad Cat pointed out, one cannon can attack a ship before the ships activate. Here's the order I had in mind for round 4 (I'm going to steal Mad Cat's example ships):

1. Start of round: Imperial player has only an ISD with Governor Pryce. Rebel player has only CR90 on table and MC75 set aside. Raddus on CR90 (with 3 hull) drops an MC75.
2. End of command phase: Imperial player's Planetary Ion Cannon destroys CR90.
3. Ship phase: MC75 activates first, because Imperial player's ISD must activate last.

Yes, you're right, it is an edge case. We will probably never see it happen. I was just wondering.