Will it be possible to build a Relay-Chain?

By Triangular, in Star Wars: Armada

The nerfed cards with relay say: " When a friendly ship resolves a squadron command , if you are in range to be activated , up to X of the squadrons it activates can be at distance 1-3 of you."

Now the question. Would a squadron in range of a Relay-squadron count as "in range to be activated"? If so, it would be able to build up a chain of relays.

Have you considered the RULES forum?

No.

4 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

No.

Yes

3 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

No.

Actually, that's enough of a points investment (30-35 points effectively) that I'd let it fly. If the intermediary shuttle is destroyed, the chain breaks and the units beyond are helpless.

Yes

No

This is how we end up with Oranple, Dammit!

Every answer gives us a multitude of new questions! :)

Edited by Triangular
typo

It makes sense thematically, so yes.

Rules-wise no though, as it mentions needing to be in range of the friendly ship resolving the squadron command

Edited by Lord Tareq

Chaining shuttles is useful. Chaining vcx means they are both out of the fight. That hurts.

Welcome back boosted coms.

2 hours ago, thecactusman17 said:

Actually, that's enough of a points investment (30-35 points effectively) that I'd let it fly. If the intermediary shuttle is destroyed, the chain breaks and the units beyond are helpless.

I'd agree if I were tuning it for balance as the game designers. But RAW, which I assume is what Tri was asking, it doesn't work, for the reasons in that thread.

10 hours ago, Ardaedhel said:

I'd agree if I were tuning it for balance as the game designers. But RAW, which I assume is what Tri was asking, it doesn't work, for the reasons in that thread.

I don't think, that RAW is so clear, as stated. It only says "if you are in range to be activated" it doesn't say " When a friendly ship resolves a squadron command, if you are in range to be activated by that ship alone , up to X of the squadrons it activates can be at distance 1-3 of you. "

As I see the wording at the end " can be at distance 1-3 of you " is as strong as the wording of Boosted Comms. " You can activate friendly squadrons at close-long range (instead of close-medium). " Both card effects give additional range. When you can chain Boosted Comms and Relay , which nobody negates, then I see no reason not to chain Relay and Relay .

I don't think the game would be better with one of the solutions. You can find strong reasoning for chaining or not chaining. I just think it's not clear and we need a faq to the faq as always. :P

The new rule sure seems to me that the Relay-ed squadrons have to be within range of the squadron with relay at the beginning of it's activation, rather than after a movement. Which I guess could end up with the chain situation but couldn't involve movement to extend/chain it, and seems like a lot of points to tie up in a gimmick.

Example: Ship uses a command, activates a squad with relay in range, which before it moves, can pass activations along to other squadrons even further away from that ship. You could chain relays, but only if all squads with relay start their activation in the squad activation (boosted or not) of that original ship.

Am I correct? So it would probably be incredibly situational at best, because it seems like now a squad with relay just gives a commanding ship a temporary form of Boosted Comms without the need of the card on the commanding ship.

Edited by AegisGrimm
4 hours ago, AegisGrimm said:

The new rule sure seems to me that the Relay-ed squadrons have to be within range of the squadron with relay at the beginning of it's activation, rather than after a movement. Which I guess could end up with the chain situation but couldn't involve movement to extend/chain it, and seems like a lot of points to tie up in a gimmick.

Example: Ship uses a command, activates a squad with relay in range, which before it moves, can pass activations along to other squadrons even further away from that ship. You could chain relays, but only if all squads with relay start their activation in the squad activation (boosted or not) of that original ship.

Am I correct? So it would probably be incredibly situational at best, because it seems like now a squad with relay just gives a commanding ship a temporary form of Boosted Comms without the need of the card on the commanding ship.

I'm really sorry but I don't get what you want to say. Maybe I'm too tired or dull? Maybe we're talking about different matters?

What I meant is without movement at all:
1) You have a ship (S) that reveals a squadron command
2) You have 1 Relay-squadron (A) in medium range of that ship, so it is in range to be activated by (S)
3) You have a second Relay-squadron (B) in range 1-3 of (A) but not in medium range of (S)
4) You have another squadron (C) in range 1-3 of (B) but not of (A)

Can your ship (S) activate only (A) and (B) or would the relay count as longer activation range of (S) and for that could also activate (C)? I think "yes".

My point is: If (S) would have Boosted Comms and (B) would be in range of that, it would be totally valid to activate (C). If you can "chain" Boosted Comms with Relay , why not chain Relay with Relay ?

Can you explain your scenario, please? :(

Seems to me that the intention of the new rule is that a parent ship can use a squadron command to piggyback across a Relay ship to reach either one (with a VCX) or two other squadrons (in the case of a Lambda) that the parent ship wouldn't otherwise be able to reach with or without Boosted Comms.

A ship can use it's Boosted Comms to reach a squad with Relay at Long range. But I can't see that you could use that squad with Relay to then reach out and trigger another ship with Relay in a big chain. Just once.

"When a friendly ship resolves a squadron command, if you are in range to be activated, up to 2 of the squadrons it activates can be at distance 1–3 of you "

" You " should refered as the Relay squadron (Lambda or VCX-100) near the ship that pass the activation to the other squadrons.

I think we are in the case where " You " mean that squadron only. Nothing else.

RAW - That's the way I read it.

6 minutes ago, DOMSWAT911 said:

"When a friendly ship resolves a squadron command, if you are in range to be activated, up to 2 of the squadrons it activates can be at distance 1–3 of you "

" You " should refered as the Relay squadron (Lambda or VCX-100) near the ship that pass the activation to the other squadrons.

I think we are in the case where " You " mean that squadron only. Nothing else.

RAW - That's the way I read it.

So long as the first Lambada is in range to be activated, it kicks in the rules text on the next Lambada.

By definition if the second Lambada is not in range to be activated, it cannot BE activated, ergo if it is in range, it is in range, it is that simple.

Squadrons are activated individually one at a time until your squadron activation value is reached, they are not all activated simultaneously, so if you have squad cap of 4, you pick your first squadron, it may move/shoot, shoot/move, move, or shoot or do nothing at all, and then you flick its activation slider, and you move on to your next squadron. This means chaining is legal by RAW.

9 hours ago, DOMSWAT911 said:

"When a friendly ship resolves a squadron command, if you are in range to be activated, up to 2 of the squadrons it activates can be at distance 1–3 of you "

" You " should refered as the Relay squadron (Lambda or VCX-100) near the ship that pass the activation to the other squadrons.

I think we are in the case where " You " mean that squadron only. Nothing else.

RAW - That's the way I read it.

The YOU is perfectly clear. The problem is the understanding of " in range to be activated ". IMHO it is valid to say that a squadron in range 1-3 of a relay squadron IS in range to be activated. If FFG meant otherwise they should have written: "When a friendly ship resolves a squadron command, if you are in range to be activated by that ship , ..."

I don't want to say that my interpretation is the only possible or better than any other. I just want to say, that the wording CAN be understood both ways. And we have to wait for FAQ or email. That's all.

Thank you for listening and "nice dice"!

I can't really see a reason why not as the rules are written if a relay squadron is in range to be activated (which if it is in 1-3 of another relay ship that is in range to be activated). I imagine you can chain with centicore too.

Edited by chr335

This will have the extra side effect of centicore being used more

2 hours ago, chr335 said:

I can't really see a reason why not as the rules are written if a relay squadron is in range to be activated (which if it is in 1-3 of another relay ship that is in range to be activated). I imagine you can chain with centicore too.

You can't chain with Centicore, I think. Card text is quite clear: "When another friendly ship resolves a Icon Command Squadron command , up to 2 of the squadrons it activates can be at close-medium range of you."

3 hours ago, chr335 said:

This will have the extra side effect of centicore being used more

Yes! Title is now indeed more valuable than before! Have to play it some time ... :)

1 hour ago, Triangular said:

You can't chain with Centicore, I think. Card text is quite clear: "When another friendly ship resolves a Icon Command Squadron command , up to 2 of the squadrons it activates can be at close-medium range of you."

And if a relay squadron is in range to be activated by centicore it can be used to chain a relay

23 minutes ago, chr335 said:

And if a relay squadron is in range to be activated by centicore it can be used to chain a relay

Yes, you're right. If you can chain relay with relay, than you can chain Centicore with relay as well!
Sorry for the mess...