Onar's Opportunistic Rush To The Limit?

By GottaBadFeelingAboutThis, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Question about timing windows: suppose Onar uses move and Rush as two actions, hitting a hostile figure with Rush and dealing (and suffering) one damage.

Can you play both opportunistic and To The Limit off of this? It seems to me that it would work, since you can play multiple cards per timing instance in other places (e.g., Call the Vanguard AND Fuel Upgrade as Start of Round).

Even if there's an issue there, it seems to me that you can play Opportunistic "during" Rush as the damage is occurring, while To The Limit takes place "after" you resolve a special action.

The effective question becomes: can you rush, deal damage, use opportunistic to move 3, and then attack with To the Limit? Is there a lovely 11-space charge for Onar here?

Opportunistic gives 3 movement points, which go into Onar's movement point pool during Onar's activation, because Opportunistic is not a special action. He can't spend movement points between Rush and To the Limit , because that would not be "after resolving a special action" anymore.

Edited by a1bert
4 hours ago, a1bert said:

Opportunistic gives 3 movement points, which go into Onar's movement point pool during Onar's activation, because Opportunistic is not a special action. He can't spend movement points between Rush and To the Limit , because that would not be "after resolving a special action" anymore.

Although @GottaBadFeelingAboutThis , you can use the action to attack and then move because onar doesn't suffer harmful conditions. It would work more or less like Hit and Run.

Edited by Golan Trevize

Actually if you want to use opportunistic MPs between rush and to the limit, only way is to let another friendly figure to use opportunistic (it's not Onar moving though).

Edited by Golan Trevize
23 hours ago, a1bert said:

Opportunistic gives 3 movement points, which go into Onar's movement point pool during Onar's activation, because Opportunistic is not a special action. He can't spend movement points between Rush and To the Limit , because that would not be "after resolving a special action" anymore.

18 hours ago, Golan Trevize said:

Actually if you want to use opportunistic MPs between rush and to the limit, only way is to let another friendly figure to use opportunistic (it's not Onar moving though).

So, between these two responses, I'm still wondering about the timing window: can you play both cards (using Opportunistic on a different figure, and still have shenanigans with Onar?). I guess there's a limited number of situations where that would matter, but suppose you're on Raining Freight: could you move, rush, "to the limit" with Onar and "opportunistic" on Shyla, using Onar's "to the limit" to move and pick up crates, and Shyla's 3 mp to pick up one?

Is there a precise timing you'd have to use to get both cards to activate off of the same event (e.g., use Opportunistic during Rush when the damage occurs, then To the Limit after Rush resolves?

5 minutes ago, GottaBadFeelingAboutThis said:

So, between these two responses, I'm still wondering about the timing window: can you play both cards (using Opportunistic on a different figure, and still have shenanigans with Onar?). I guess there's a limited number of situations where that would matter, but suppose you're on Raining Freight: could you move, rush, "to the limit" with Onar and "opportunistic" on Shyla, using Onar's "to the limit" to move and pick up crates, and Shyla's 3 mp to pick up one?

Is there a precise timing you'd have to use to get both cards to activate off of the same event (e.g., use Opportunistic during Rush when the damage occurs, then To the Limit after Rush resolves?

I wouldn't overthink it too much - the trigger for opportunistic is "when a figure takes damage" which happens as part of the Rush action. You would play Opportunistic immediately at that point, on Onar or a different figure. If you were to play it on Shyla she would move immediately before anything else happens (since it isn't her activation), if you played it on Onar he would gain the movement points immediately but wouldn't be able to spend them inside another action.

The Rush action is now complete, and since you've just done a special action you have an opportunity to play To the Limit to do another action. If you had used Opportunistic on Onar then he's already got the 3 movement points at this point, but he won't have a chance to use them yet because To the Limit must be played immediately following the special action.

So to recap, if you used Opportunistic on Shyla, the order would be:

Onar declares "Rush" - Onar moves up to his speed - Onar pushes a figure and does/takes one damage - Opportunistic is played - Shyla Moves - TtL is played - Onar uses the extra action to attack

While if you used Opportunistic on Onar himself the order would be:

Onar declares "Rush" - Onar moves up to his speed - Onar pushes a figure and does/takes one damage - Opportunistic is played - (Onar gets movement points but can't use them yet) - TtL is played - Onar uses the extra action to attack - Onar can finally spend the extra 3 movement points to move away

And for the record, in case it does come up, if two cards have the same trigger (e.g. maybe there's another card someday that also triggers when a friendly figure takes damage) then you can play the cards in whatever order you wish.

2 hours ago, GottaBadFeelingAboutThis said:

use Opportunistic during Rush when the damage occurs, then To the Limit after Rush resolves?

Exact

The problem is, that Opportunistic gives you 3 movement points. When it's your activation, these three movement points go to your movement pool. (Opportunistic does NOT say move 3 spaces.) Then, your special action ends. At that point you play To The Limit. Then you IMMEDIATELY resolve another action. Then you become Stunned. When Stunned, you can't use your movement pool anymore ...

Therefore, you absolutely can play both cards, but Opportunistic will give you nothing yo could use.

21 minutes ago, DerBaer said:

When Stunned, you can't use your movement pool anymore ...

You can't spend your movement points to move the figure because you can't exit your space while stunned . If there is an ability or a mission rule that allows you to spend movement points for some other effect (like claiming or retrieving objects), you can still do that while stunned .

Edited by a1bert

Also, the conversation was about Onar (who can't be stunned)

:blink: Ah, yes, you're right.

I love Onar even more now :lol: