Rod of Ruin

By Nerdmeister, in Talisman Rules Questions

Is this item used as soon as you pick it up or can you choose when you wish to unleash it´s ability (cause another char to loose 2 str, 2 craft or 1 of each). The card itself is a bit vague.

I´d say based on the fact that it is an object it seems to be logical that you can take it with you.

On the other hand almost (if not all) abilities in talisman state when they can be used ("use before you move", "use at the start of another chars turn", "use anytime" etc) and the rod of ruin has no such descriptive (though neither does it specifically say to use it when you find it).

Any and all thoughts on this matter will be appreciated

Hi Nerdmeister,

You can choose when you want to use the Rod of Ruin.

You don't have to encounter a other character to use the Rod

I am aways using it on my turn.